CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 09:56 PM   #1
KHM3dia
Veteran
portfolio
Stefan Oprisan
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
Why is this happening when i un-parent

Ive got this full character rig, with full skin and its got a box acting as the main parent controlling its rotation

http://www.flickr.com/photos/64889020@N07/9176908121/

however im trying to create new finger curl but every time i unparent the bones from the box this happens

http://www.flickr.com/photos/64889020@N07/9176920925/

how do i fix this???

also do you guys know any good finger curl tuts??
 
Old 06-30-2013, 11:34 PM   #2
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Looks like what is happening is the object parented is reverting to its local position related to world 0,0,0.

Make sure when you unapparent, first check your settings by doing it from the Edit menu and check the "Preserve Position" option.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 07-01-2013, 11:43 AM   #3
KHM3dia
Veteran
portfolio
Stefan Oprisan
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
nope it doesnt work...also i did have preserve position on, also i broke the connection and still didnt work
 
Old 07-01-2013, 02:38 PM   #4
Gnimmel
Expert
Richard Cheek
Technical animator
Freelance-Animation
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 286
Is the transform locked on the joint you are un-parenting? If you change a objects parent, the transform needs to update to keep it in the same position because the transforms in the channel box are local. If they are locked it can't update so it will move in world space.
The same could happen if you have anything connected to the transforms, perhaps a expression or constraint?
__________________
Richard Cheek
http://www.freelance-animation.com
Personal project : The Goblin Abyss
 
Old 07-01-2013, 07:01 PM   #5
KHM3dia
Veteran
portfolio
Stefan Oprisan
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 57
i fixed it...i ran a command that basically merged the curve into the bone, making the curve act as the parent bone that would drive the rest
 
Old 07-01-2013, 07:01 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.