CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2013, 01:40 PM   #1
mlager8
Expert
 
mlager8's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Lager
3D artist
Oceanside, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 878
vray shader issues

So I have this eye shader for mental ray that I wants to switch over to vray. I though switching the texture networks to a vray material would work fine but it looks like vray is handling the some 3d noise nodes differently.

I mapped the network to a mia material x and put it a plane and rendered with mray then took the same network and put it on a vray material and rendered the plane in vray. You can see the "vein" map is not showing up at all. I'm not sure whats going on exactly as all the network nodes are maya centric, not mental ray specific so I dont know why they would transfer over properly.

Here are the 2 renders and the 2 shader networks side by side



__________________

 
Old 05-16-2013, 03:50 PM   #2
mlager8
Expert
 
mlager8's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Lager
3D artist
Oceanside, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 878
Found a weird issue... on a fractal node if the frequency ratio is above 1 AND inflection is checked it basically renders all white. Without inflection its fine...
__________________

 
Old 05-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
mlager8
Expert
 
mlager8's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Lager
3D artist
Oceanside, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 878
I just found this..
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=990625

Is this still the case nearly 2 years later?
__________________

 
Old 05-17-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
thev
Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlager8
I just found this..
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=990625

Is this still the case nearly 2 years later?
No. The noise texture in particular renders nearly identically to how it looks in the Maya SW renderer in recent builds. If you have a scene where it looks different, it would be best to post the scene on the official V-Ray forum and we'll look at what's going on.

Best regards,
Vlado
 
Old 05-17-2013, 02:54 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.