CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 02:53 PM   #1
filmguy01
Scholar
portfolio
Film
Boston, USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Maya image plane freezing for first 8 frames

I'm putting an image sequence in the maya viewport background with an image plane attached to the camera. I'm using jpgs. Fairly small ones too. Between 100kb and 300kb each.

The problem is, it freezes on the first frame for the first 8 or 9 frames and then the image sequence starts.

I feel like I've had this problem before, but I don't remember the cause or the solution.
Does anyone have any insight into this problem?

Please advise.
Thanks!

P.S. I'm on Maya 2013
 
Old 04-10-2013, 03:13 PM   #2
bpx
Know-it-All
 
bpx's Avatar
portfolio
Bernardo Pichardo
santo domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 402
hi!
you can try putting a -8 in the "frame offset" option of the image plane attribute editor windows.
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:08 PM   #3
jonmummery
Veteran
portfolio
Jon Mummery
Senior Animator
Crytek
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Agree sounds like you need an offset.
I wouldn't attach to image plane on the camera, I would put the image sequence on a polygon.
Then you have more control. You can even add a slider on the polygon to key the offset meaning you can skip frames forward and back.
YouTube image sequence with slider.
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:20 PM   #4
jonmummery
Veteran
portfolio
Jon Mummery
Senior Animator
Crytek
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
 
Old 04-11-2013, 01:30 PM   #5
filmguy01
Scholar
portfolio
Film
Boston, USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Thanks for the reply. The offset didn't do the trick. But I did figure it out. It was the image number padding. Apparently Maya doesn't read image padding more than 5 images large. But not six. For instance, it wouldn't read something like filename.000001.jpg but it would read filename.00001.jpg.

It was actually freezing until frame ten when the decimal place would push to the left one space and it would be able to read the numbers. Strange, but a useful thing to know.

Thanks for the image plane tip too Jon. I'll give that a shot next time.

Cheers
 
Old 04-11-2013, 08:49 PM   #6
bpx
Know-it-All
 
bpx's Avatar
portfolio
Bernardo Pichardo
santo domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 402
oh nice, i didn't know about the 5 digits limitation, thanks for sharing your solution.
 
Old 04-11-2013, 08:49 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.