CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
DEVILSAN
Earth Born>> goo.gl/mJh20
 
DEVILSAN's Avatar
portfolio
Sanjeev Kumar
MPC
India
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 290
best *nix distro to run maya, nuke and houdini?

Hello friends,
I am a freelancer and want to install a linux OS on one of my intel based machine, can anyone tell me what distro should I pick onto what I can get maximum compatibility with Maya, Nuke and Houdini ? what i want if anything goes wrong their is easy to fix solution on the web ...
 
Old 11-10-2012, 03:37 PM   #2
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
I use CentOS 6.3 because it requires little-to-no additional dependency installation for Maya support out of the box. Houdini and Nuke run with no additional installation as well. Don't get Ubuntu - it's a lot more of a pain in the ass to set up for Maya
 
Old 11-10-2012, 05:12 PM   #3
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
This thread has some good info:

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...p?f=2&t=1079174

I use Fedora 16 and KDE for Maya, but I think Houdini was built on a debian-based system.

Autodesk only supports their wares on RedHat/Fedora, but Maya should work fine on any .rpm based setup like SUSE. You can get it going on a debian-based system as well, but its sketchier.

Its a lot of work to get it going, but if you use a SSD, the performance enhancements are worth it. Make sure to keep your windows installation though.

Its tough to give an exact answer. Just start downloading distros and testing them out. I tired OpenSUSE, Ubuntu, and CentOS before I settled on Fedora.

-AJ
__________________
 
Old 11-11-2012, 05:26 AM   #4
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,928
If you weren't using Maya I'd say go for an LTS release of Ubuntu like 12.04 LTS which is one of the best overall Linux distributions to date for a lot of reasons. Though Maya is built stupidly and takes fiddling to get it to work on Ubuntu or any Debian based distribution (are you listening Autodesk? That's lame, super lame). In my experience pretty much everything else works on any Linux distribution without any hassle. Autodesk recommends Fedora 14 or RHEL 6.2 for Maya 2013. I wouldn't recommend an old version of Fedora because the repositories with all the updates are no longer online. That leaves RHEL (and CentOS) which neither are great options for most users. RHEL is expensive relatively speaking and CentOS has had deep rooted management issues and is usually not punctual with updates and releases.
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 11-24-2012, 05:15 PM   #5
DEVILSAN
Earth Born>> goo.gl/mJh20
 
DEVILSAN's Avatar
portfolio
Sanjeev Kumar
MPC
India
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 290
I got fedora 14 up now , since its the version maya supports, how do I install a file with tgz extension , its like a zupped file in windows though, i found default installer is rpm but this is tgz ..

can anyone point me to the way how to install tgz extension file...
 
Old 11-24-2012, 10:36 PM   #6
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
the .rpms are in the .tgz.

http://www.delphifaq.com/faq/f1067.shtml
__________________

Last edited by AJ1 : 11-25-2012 at 02:43 AM.
 
Old 11-25-2012, 03:44 AM   #7
DEVILSAN
Earth Born>> goo.gl/mJh20
 
DEVILSAN's Avatar
portfolio
Sanjeev Kumar
MPC
India
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 290
so zip is default for windows ...
 
Old 11-25-2012, 03:53 AM   #8
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
Zip is an open standard that's used by almost everyone.

(sorry to derail the thread about Linux)
__________________
 
Old 11-28-2012, 04:34 PM   #9
MBeckUK
New Member
portfolio
Michael Beck
Leeds, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Devilsan,

As others have said, a TGZ is a zipped up TAR file and is effectively the same as a Windows ZIP file.

Good luck with the Linux install - if you have problems with that, our work uses CentOS and finds that it runs most things pretty well.
 
Old 11-29-2012, 07:14 AM   #10
DEVILSAN
Earth Born>> goo.gl/mJh20
 
DEVILSAN's Avatar
portfolio
Sanjeev Kumar
MPC
India
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 290
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBeckUK
Devilsan,

As others have said, a TGZ is a zipped up TAR file and is effectively the same as a Windows ZIP file.

Good luck with the Linux install - if you have problems with that, our work uses CentOS and finds that it runs most things pretty well.

yes you are right, I downloaded 2 DVD x64 - Cent OS recently and I will install it.
 
Old 11-29-2012, 07:14 AM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.