CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 03:37 PM   #106
lostcat
3d junkie
 
lostcat's Avatar
portfolio
Nicolas Stanek
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 76
oops... I did a double post
__________________
www.Borgdust.com

Last edited by lostcat : 11-01-2006 at 11:38 PM.
 
Old 10-13-2006, 05:58 PM   #107
seema
Frequenter
seema
character rigger
Mumbai, India
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
animation transfer

Hi jason/or anyone who can help,

I am looking for a solution with which i can switch bet. low>High res rigs without losing any info. Using you rigUI script(fast anim rigs) I am able to transfer animation data as you are using the same animCurves to connect, but my question is ,how to handle constrained animations? Like for eg: if an animator has constrain the low:COG to a locator in the scene , when he switches to high res the constraint is not gonna work.And if i bake animation n then trafer it, i get too many keys and also he losing the capacity to animate the cog with the locator.

So,I personally prefer replacing reference, as it takes animation data as well as constarints and other connections as well .Why have you tranfered link between animNode instead of replacing reference? I am sure its for a good purpose, and I would love to kno y to understand its uses betr. Thanks for your time :-)
 
Old 03-08-2007, 09:27 AM   #108
shiftmax
New Member
portfolio
farid
m
Tehran, Iran
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
I have a snake to rig !
is there any tutorial or idea about rigging the snake?
waiting for your help!
 
Old 03-08-2007, 11:51 AM   #109
Vlad Gabriel
Veteran
 
Vlad Gabriel's Avatar
Vlad Gabriel Tanasescu
Cg
Magma Vfx
Ontario, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 44
You posted on a wrong thread...

But, you can rig that snake using the spline ik.
__________________
synthesize
 
Old 09-17-2007, 06:12 AM   #110
ashchauhan1981
New Member
 
ashchauhan1981's Avatar
portfolio
Ashish Chauhan
Rigging & Lighting Artist
New Delhi, India
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Post how to link Vertex with dummy

hi guys i need u r help for some rigging work .i want link spline vertex with dummy or other object in 3ds max , if somebody know how to do this .pls tell me.
 
Old 09-30-2007, 08:57 AM   #111
adamghering
New Member
portfolio
Adam Ghering
CG animator
NO GOOD TELEVISION (NGTV)
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by MystikGotan
Hi guys,


Now for my question... I've got to get him rigged and textured, I've already practised on animation and I think I'll cope with that... But tips for rigging? I don't have that much time to delve into the art of rigging (not to mention texturing). Any tips? Is it hard to find one who would like to rig Gollum for me, or will I have a fair chance of doing it myself?

Getting just a basic feel of Gollum in our first part of LotM is essential, for now we don't have the need or urge to create a great or outstanding result. So would it be reasonable if I would say that if I would got through the Max UR and do some tutorials in the Tutorials index from Max, then I would get a pretty adequete Gollum?


Gotan


Ok Check this out,

If you are indeed doing this in max then you're in better shape than if you were doing this in maya. The tutorial section that comes with Max is comprehensive, easy to understand, and liberaly hyper-linked for anything you aren't up to speed on. It is so good that I have yet to find a book on the market for Max that I needed to buy. There are tutorials for beginning rigging all the way to advanced production rigs. It builds it in parts so getting through it will give you the framework for piecing together other non-specific rigs for multiple uses and a good portion was written in part or in whole by fellow master rigger and poster Paule Neale. The characters covered are cartoon based and if you want a more comprehensive Max rigging experience you can purchase Paul's rigging tutorial DVDs from CG Academy. From layered rigs to muscle systems it provides step by step instructions for taking rigging to the next level. Great asset for anyone in a character pipeline.

The best advice is not to get frustrated. There is a reason they call it a black art and I read through the same tutorials about twenty times with twenty failed rigs before I understood everything but it pays off.

Good Luck with your film,

Last edited by adamghering : 09-30-2007 at 09:00 AM.
 
Old 02-21-2008, 07:54 PM   #112
rcarr
Animator
-----
France
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
spline vert

ashchauhan1981

you can use spline select then select the vert you want then use linked x form to bind it to another helper or object
RB
 
Old 04-05-2009, 10:56 AM   #113
kataze
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Hi Guys , i have a Question , (I am Maya user)
I want to reuse my rig , after i re-position my bone to the correct place , and the controller may be change the value (i.e , tranlate X from 0 to 7 on my controller )

So i was wonder if there is a way , can let it inherit the offset , than the controller still be value at 0 .

Seems a little hard to explain what i want to say ,Hope someone can understand what i`m saying
 
Old 10-11-2009, 01:13 AM   #114
vvkonline
Frequenter
 
vvkonline's Avatar
portfolio
Vadim Kiyaev
Character TD
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
most of the time you should use an offset group, some people call it hook, where you have group on top of controller, this way you can move your offset group and preserve zeroed out controller.
__________________
crashalot
 
Old 03-23-2010, 08:07 PM   #115
CinqMars
5mars
 
CinqMars's Avatar
portfolio
Le Berre Guillaume
Freelance CG artist
5mars
Le Carbet, France
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
2 characters for 1 animation/rigging.. How to?

Hello,
I am quite noob in animation but i've to do a short movie in my work with 3dsMax2010.
The problem is that i have 2 characters, quite similar in the modeling but differents, and i have 2 short movies to do with each of them. Animations, rigging, and all will be the same between the 2 movies, only the character will change.

I have to estimate the length of work i will have, and I wonder if I shall to do again all anims 2 times or if I can only do again the skinning. In the same way, which would be the best method between biped (character studio> can save .bip) and bones/personal rigging (don't know how to re-use my anim work), morph or splines (bones) skinning for facial anim?

I am a bit lost thanks for help me!

Last edited by CinqMars : 03-24-2010 at 12:30 AM.
 
Old 09-18-2011, 05:20 PM   #116
JormaSoranen
Veteran
 
JormaSoranen's Avatar
portfolio
Jorma Soranen
Biesdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
I just wrote about a similar topic here: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...?f=54&t=1008276
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.