CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Programming
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
DeadlyNightshade
Plz...
 
DeadlyNightshade's Avatar
portfolio
Martin Dahlin
Jr. Technical Artist
King
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 922
texMoveContext bugged?

I have a problem with this command.
It appears that you can't edit thev snapComponentsRelative flag from outside the UV texture editor. Ie writing this in the script editor:
texMoveContext -e -snapComponentsRelative true texMoveContext;

...does not work outside the UV texture editor. Even with the tool settings panel open I have to be inside the editor in order to properly run this command - why is that?

Try it yourself. Do:
texMoveContext -e -snapComponentsRelative true texMoveContext;
or
texMoveContext -e -snapComponentsRelative false texMoveContext;
...without having the editor open. (Have the tool settings panel open though to see if the status changes).

EDIT: Odd thing is that if I toggle this via the tool settings panel, it works - even if the editor is open or not. And the weird thing is that according to the script editor, the checkbox in the tool settings panel runs exactly the same command (the one above).
__________________
Nightshade UV Editor (script for Maya) - Extends Maya's default UV Texture Editor with additional tools.

Last edited by DeadlyNightshade : 03-31-2013 at 07:39 PM.
 
Old 04-01-2013, 11:57 AM   #2
djx
Where's my pony?
 
djx's Avatar
David Johnson
vfx & creature td
Melbourne, Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlyNightshade
Try it yourself. Do:
texMoveContext -e -snapComponentsRelative true texMoveContext;
or
texMoveContext -e -snapComponentsRelative false texMoveContext;
...without having the editor open.

This works for me. I think the reason for your incorrect conclusion is that you were expecting the tool settings window to update, which it doesn't if the uv editor window is not open. But if you do:

texMoveContext -q -snapComponentsRelative texMoveContext;

you can verify the changed setting. And of course opening the uv editor causes the tool settings window to update to the correct state.

Unfortunately this type of UI update issue is very common in maya. Try setting attrs for some of the modelPanel "show" options and you'll quickly see what I mean.

David
__________________
http://www.djx.com.au
 
Old 06-15-2013, 01:00 PM   #3
DeadlyNightshade
Plz...
 
DeadlyNightshade's Avatar
portfolio
Martin Dahlin
Jr. Technical Artist
King
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 922
Update:
The issue is this: Unless there is an active UV selection in the scene, you cannot alter the snapComponentsRelative -flag of the texMoveContext -command

Really awkward and really annoying
__________________
Nightshade UV Editor (script for Maya) - Extends Maya's default UV Texture Editor with additional tools.
 
Old 06-15-2013, 01:00 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.