CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Plugins & Add-ons
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2017, 09:44 PM   #5971
AchanThank
Explorer
portfolio
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
is there any voluminance plugins for 3ds max 2015

is there any voluminance plugins for 3ds Max 2015
 
Old 04-10-2017, 12:36 PM   #5972
starcentral
Explorer
 
starcentral's Avatar
portfolio
Dennis
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Is it possible to get low resolution draft of smoke in view port in 3ds max? I watched a tutorial on Maya, and the simulation would render in the fumefx output preview, but also the maya windows.. I would like to do the same in 3ds max.

cheers!
 
Old 04-12-2017, 02:05 PM   #5973
circusboy
Expert
Raonull Conover
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,386
Maya has a nice volume display mode-thanks to the original/native fluid feature. This is missing from Max. FumeFX's native preview window is as good as it gets.

FumeFX on Maya really greatly benefits from this I agree.

Last edited by circusboy : 04-12-2017 at 06:28 PM.
 
Old 04-19-2017, 11:46 AM   #5974
starcentral
Explorer
 
starcentral's Avatar
portfolio
Dennis
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
thanks for reply circusboy, I will have to live with it I guess.


Any tips for getting a shadow on the front side of some smoke when back lighting with a target spot? I have the light shadows on, atmosphere shadows on, and turned on cast/receive shadows in fumefx panel. Tried all shadow types shadow map, area, ray, etc..

My grid size is 100 and spacing set to 0.08. default scanline renderer.

The output looks flat without any depth. Looks like cheese.

Last edited by starcentral : 04-19-2017 at 01:19 PM.
 
Old 04-19-2017, 07:19 PM   #5975
circusboy
Expert
Raonull Conover
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,386
Try playing with Illumination Parameters.
Here is a tutorial that gives the basics (page 3)
https://www.3dtotal.com/tutorial/18...alal-vfx?page=3

Maybe more than one shadow light can help too-but play with what you got first.
 
Old 04-23-2017, 02:08 PM   #5976
starcentral
Explorer
 
starcentral's Avatar
portfolio
Dennis
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks I will give that a go.

One thing striking me as odd is that if I add one light source to the scene and set the strength of it to 0, or even a negative value, the smoke in the render still appears as dull flat grey. My thinking is with those settings it should be black, ie. invivislbe and I wonder if this is somehow affecting the look of my final render.

thanks!
 
Old 04-23-2017, 05:14 PM   #5977
DeKo-LT
Expert
 
DeKo-LT's Avatar
portfolio
DeKo
FREElance
Vilnius, Lithuania
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by starcentral
Thanks I will give that a go.

One thing striking me as odd is that if I add one light source to the scene and set the strength of it to 0, or even a negative value, the smoke in the render still appears as dull flat grey. My thinking is with those settings it should be black, ie. invivislbe and I wonder if this is somehow affecting the look of my final render.

thanks!


In Rendering Tab, there is Ambient color which can be changed to pure black (zero additional lightning). With linear workflow gamma it affects too much.
__________________
 
Old 04-24-2017, 09:00 PM   #5978
starcentral
Explorer
 
starcentral's Avatar
portfolio
Dennis
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks everyone for input.

I had a lot more shadow effect on my model emitting smoke by playing with the visual and shadow falloff.. like night and day difference.

Not really a big effect on my overall render, but still puzzling for me is when I turn lights off or set my object not to receive lights I get a very very dark render of the smoke.. it should really invisible in this case. I tried playing with global, ambient light - no luck. no ideas why it happens.

cheers
 
Old 04-28-2017, 03:42 PM   #5979
circusboy
Expert
Raonull Conover
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,386
Also remember-likely for best results you will have custom lights for your FumeFX. If you are trying to match scene lighting for the rest of the shot-your lights for fume fx may only resemble in position/location. The rest of the settings should be tweaked to make your FX look best with your custom light rig.

Depending on what version of FumeFX you have you may also need to be using AB map or AB Raytraced
lights as your light type for good self shadows. I think 4.2.2 makes this less of an issue.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.