CGTalk > Techniques > Animation
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 07:28 AM   #1
unc0nnected
New Member
 
unc0nnected's Avatar
portfolio
Ryan Wiancko
Producer
Ironbelly Studios
Montreal, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Merging multiple .fbx files into the same timeline

Hey guys, we have a bit of a pickle here and I was hoping to call on the wisdom of the animation gods here for assistance.

We have a series of animations all for the same character(same rig, same mesh) spread out in separate .fbx files but all aranged linearily on a timeline. For example, animation #1 is in file #1 and is frame 1-30 in that file, animation #2 is in file #2 and goes from frame 31-60. We now need to marge all of those .fbx's into a single .fbx on one concurrent timeline and we're having some difficulties.

We've tried the save/load animation option in max there but the bones be missing upon the load.

We're currently using max/motion builder at the moment but if we had to do this in maya or blender or whatever that wouldn't be a problem.


Thanks in advance!
 
Old 12-04-2012, 08:13 AM   #2
unc0nnected
New Member
 
unc0nnected's Avatar
portfolio
Ryan Wiancko
Producer
Ironbelly Studios
Montreal, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Looks like we got it.. It wasn't working at first because the hierarchy was changed and clearly the setup has to be exact for the following to work.

What you have to do is make a animation then select all the bones and go to Animation> Save Animation> and set the frame time line and export. And also be sure to check in the key per frame, And name the Animation file such as run,walk etc. Export different animation file (*.XAF). Now open the another file with same name and exact bone settings. just select all the bones(not the Mesh) and load animation , check in Absolute and check in insert.
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #3
unc0nnected
New Member
 
unc0nnected's Avatar
portfolio
Ryan Wiancko
Producer
Ironbelly Studios
Montreal, CA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Alrighty, that works for animations all originating from the same rig but what if we have a file with animations from another rig and we want to merge it with animations from a new different rig? Same mesh
 
Old 12-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.