CGTalk > Software > The Foundry Modo
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 08:59 PM   #106
o-me o-maya
abgrafx3d's Avatar
Wayne Daigle
3D Generalist / Interactive Specialist
A&B Graf/x
Meraux, USA
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to abgrafx3d Send a message via MSN to abgrafx3d Send a message via Yahoo to abgrafx3d
Try using this keyboard shortcut file posted in the Lux forum - Very useful.
Wayne Daigle
A&B Graf/x
Old 10-08-2012, 12:56 PM   #107
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Thanks, abgrafx3d. Great file to have for reference.
Old 11-19-2012, 01:43 AM   #108
New Member
Western Australia, Australia
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
I second that abgrafx3d, Great keyboard layout.
Old 04-25-2013, 06:29 AM   #109
Greg Malick
Lead Analyst
Kaneohe, USA
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Press Numeric-1 for Top view - press it again for Bottom (toggles back and forth).

Numeric-1 toggles Top/Bottom
Numeric-2 toggles Front/Back
Numeric-3 toggles Right/Left
Numeric Del toggles Perspective/Camera
Old 04-25-2013, 09:25 AM   #110
Henning Sanden
London, Denmark
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to hsanden
I made a tutorial with a lot of modeling tips. I think it would fit perfectly into this thread

How to Optimize modo for Faster Modeling

Some gifs from it.

Old 04-25-2013, 12:41 PM   #111
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 102
Awesome tutorial, thanks for posting!
Old 09-26-2013, 07:50 AM   #112
Ruler of Omicron Persei 8
RageOfAges's Avatar
Joel Appugliese
3D Freelance Artist
The Geometry Junkyard
Victoria, Canada
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,086
Spacebar to scroll between vertex/edge/polygon or shift + space to switch between component mode and item mode. (imo this is the fastest way to switch between modes because my thumb is pretty much always on the spacebar anyway)

alt + mmb rotates the camera along the Z axis. Excellent for orienting yourself when trackball wont' get you the view you need.

Right clicking a component or component selection will bring up a popup menu with a list of operations you can run on it. This is great for the operations you use less often and you're not familiar with the hotkey for it, or for operations that don't have a hotkey assigned like the bridge tool (you could make a hotkey too ofc.).

The tool pipeline is an amazing and often overlooked resource. Here you can make your own tool presets and save them out as your own custom tools. You can stack tools, falloffs, action centers, etc.

In the render view, you can left click anything to select it's material in the material editor. Similarly, you can create a material in the material editor and drop it onto an object in the render view to assign it. You can also drag and drop images from the image panel directly on an object in the render view to assign it as an image map on the material that's already assigned to that object. If no material is assigned, it will create one.

You can use the sculpting tools for modeling (smooth, push, etc.) in order to manipulate wider areas of your model or simply relax some vertices.

Now, I actually had a question, and hope no one minds me asking it here, but I felt guilty doing so without contributing, and also this whole forum seems so tidy I din't want to start a new thread.

Modo seems to always import objects (especially when using goz) as subdivision. This can be pretty hard on my system when I'm sending over a 100k poly item to use as a reference for building an accessory or something similar. I've looked through the manual and help files, preferences, etc, but never found an option to import as a polygon object instead of sub-d. It can always be turned into a poly object after the fact, but modo struggles when it's trying to subdivide to 10 million polys on import. Sometimes I have to wait a good 5-10 minutes just for everything to resolve itself before I can hit the tab key.

thanks in advance

Old 11-01-2013, 01:43 AM   #113
Lord of the posts
Julian Howard
Saint Louis, USA
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 519
shrinkwrap with collision detection?


Is there a way to slide one mesh over another in modo so that the one mesh is shrinkwrapped over the other? And are there ways to have collision detection?


Last edited by trashtalk : 11-01-2013 at 01:47 AM.
Old 04-07-2014, 12:46 PM   #114
New Member
Hamilton Alves Franco Junior
Contagem, Brazil
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Modo has a great image viewer.

Load your references in the image list
Double click one of them, the image viewer will show up
Right click the viewport dot in the upper left corner and split as you like
Drag and drop the remaining referencies to the newly created viewports

reply share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.