My car ... in Wings ;)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

03 March 2003
Talking My car ... in Wings ;)

Hi!

This is the first time I really post SOMETHING!

I've been trying Wings for a few days now and so I thought I could get a try at modeling something from start to finish, with ref pics and all that stuff

And the chosen one was my car, a Lancia Y.

This is my first try so, its still a wip, and I thought I should do it as a low poly model for now, before I get more easy with wings, and because I wanted to try the UV Mapping features.

So this is the result. I know the model can be improved, the textures suck, because I just cut and pasted them from a low res pic into the texture pic just to see how it would be and also to see if I was able to do that.

I hope you like it.

Best regards.

Last edited by JPGargoyle : 04 April 2003 at 01:05 PM.

03 March 2003
Great start. I think it's ready for detail and higher res textures for a 3Delight render.

Care to share how you approached the UV mapping in Wings?

Sean.

03 March 2003
Quote: Originally posted by somlor
Great start. I think it's ready for detail and higher res textures for a 3Delight render.

Thanks a lot Sean.
I think you are right. My next step is to refine the mesh, and add in the detail needed to create all the geometry of the car so it can be all defined just by its geometry without the need of textures (like rear view mirrors and stuff).
My final goal is to export it to PovRay.

Quote: Originally posted by somlor
Care to share how you approached the UV mapping in Wings?

Sean.

Sure. I'm making some screen captures to show the way I did it.

Will be ready in no time and then I will post them here.

Best regards.

03 March 2003
if you want to just do a smooth on it to bring the res up bebore you start cutting in the details you can try this
tighten -50% then smooth