CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax SDK and MaxScript
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
Just have looked at new features...

How can I trust people who write this code:
http://www.autodesk.com/content/dam...ge-1152x696.jpg
 
Old 03-29-2013, 03:59 PM   #2
Swordslayer
isKindOf Artist
 
Swordslayer's Avatar
portfolio
Vojtech Cada
3D generalist
Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 365
Send a message via ICQ to Swordslayer
Quote:
Code:
if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == true do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = true if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == false do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = false


I can imagine this would happen only if they were paid by lines of code or number of characters written
__________________
Blog :: LinkedIn profile
 
Old 03-29-2013, 04:21 PM   #3
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swordslayer
I can imagine this would happen only if they were paid by lines of code or number of characters written

it's worse:
Code:
dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = false dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = true if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == true do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = true if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == false do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = false
 
Old 03-29-2013, 04:24 PM   #4
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
here is a better (more expensive) version:
Code:
if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == true and unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() != false do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = true if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == false and unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() != true do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = false
 
Old 03-29-2013, 04:43 PM   #5
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
Code:
global UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_TITLE = "Unwrap Rollout" rollout UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_DEFINITION UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_TITLE ( local UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_CREATE_BUTTON_TITLE = "Create" local UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_CREATE_BUTTON_WIDTH = 100 button UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_CREATE_BUTTON_DEFINITION UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_CREATE_BUTTON_TITLE width:UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_CREATE_BUTTON_WIDTH ) createdialog UNWRAP_ROLLOUT_DEFINITION
 
Old 03-29-2013, 04:53 PM   #6
Swordslayer
isKindOf Artist
 
Swordslayer's Avatar
portfolio
Vojtech Cada
3D generalist
Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 365
Send a message via ICQ to Swordslayer
Well, at least the .res files make it a bit harder to translate property names to Japanese, for example.
__________________
Blog :: LinkedIn profile
 
Old 03-29-2013, 05:17 PM   #7
spacefrog
Frog of the posts
 
spacefrog's Avatar
Josef Wienerroither
Freelance
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,427
Is the code from the screenshot really in there ?!?!?!?

I would hope this is just a fake code screenshot ....
__________________

PowerPreview: High Quality Nitrous Previews for 3ds Max 2012|2013|2014

[ Free Download (ScriptSpot) ]

Home of The Frogs | Online Portfolio
 
Old 03-29-2013, 05:23 PM   #8
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacefrog
Is the code from the screenshot really in there ?!?!?!?

I would hope this is just a fake code screenshot ....

it's the real code!
\stdplugs\stdscripts\modifier_uvwunwrap_dialog.ms
Enjoy!

Last edited by denisT : 03-29-2013 at 05:27 PM.
 
Old 03-29-2013, 05:26 PM   #9
spacefrog
Frog of the posts
 
spacefrog's Avatar
Josef Wienerroither
Freelance
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,427
I just had a look in 3ds Max 8:
those awefull code parts are there already and the header itself says they were added for Max 6. Let's hope the days of such code quality are really gone ....
__________________

PowerPreview: High Quality Nitrous Previews for 3ds Max 2012|2013|2014

[ Free Download (ScriptSpot) ]

Home of The Frogs | Online Portfolio
 
Old 03-29-2013, 07:54 PM   #10
Kickflipkid687
Art and Music are Life
 
Kickflipkid687's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew Lichy%2B
3D Artist
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,640
Send a message via AIM to Kickflipkid687 Send a message via MSN to Kickflipkid687
Quote:
Originally Posted by denisT
here is a better (more expensive) version:
Code:
if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == true and unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() != false do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = true if unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() == false and unwrapMod.getEnableSoftSelection() != true do dash_SoftFalloff.enabled = false



ha ha ha ha ha
__________________
http://matthewlichy.com

 
Old 04-02-2013, 08:32 AM   #11
lanimal
Veteran
portfolio
Gonzales
Antony, France
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 77
That maybe explain some of the strange stuff in max...
I'm sure there's plenty other example in the core code.
 
Old 04-02-2013, 01:06 PM   #12
JokerMartini
Expert
 
JokerMartini's Avatar
portfolio
John Martini
CG Supervisor, 3D, Maxscript, VFX
Ingenuity Engine
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,303
Send a message via AIM to JokerMartini
I love the caps lock and the first two UI items that have position expression calculations haha. It's called a calculator!
__________________
____________ ___ __ _
John A. Martini
JokerMartini@hotmail.com
www.JokerMartini.com
 
Old 04-02-2013, 01:40 PM   #13
PePeTD
The One and Only
 
PePeTD's Avatar
portfolio
Felipe Nogueira
Technical Artist
Bethesda Softworks
Rockville, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 207
Send a message via ICQ to PePeTD Send a message via MSN to PePeTD
Ugh.... I have never ran across that specific .ms file, but I have gone through some other AMAZING scripts from autodesk that made me laugh and cry at the same time.

also John don't you know? Caps everything makes code better... If this is not a fact then it should be.
__________________
Felipe Nogueira aka: PePeTD
Technical Artist/Character TD
http://felipenogueira3d.com

Last edited by PePeTD : 04-02-2013 at 01:44 PM.
 
Old 04-02-2013, 02:51 PM   #14
DanGrover
Know-it-All
portfolio
Dan Grover
Technical Director
River Film
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 355
Send a message via MSN to DanGrover
Quote:
Originally Posted by JokerMartini
I love the caps lock and the first two UI items that have position expression calculations haha. It's called a calculator!


The calculations are what got me.
__________________

 
Old 04-02-2013, 03:04 PM   #15
denisT
MAX Doctor
 
denisT's Avatar
portfolio
Denis Trofimov
CA, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9,434
Send a message via ICQ to denisT
if we are talking about 'safe coding' try to guess where these two global functions i got...
GetSelectedSubAnim(), IsFloatController()
or try:
Code:
isFloatController (bezier_float())
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.