moon

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2007
moon

Hi there,

I am new to messiah but I follow this forum with enjoyment for some time now. I did a work for sport club and I would like to know what you guys think of my picture. This is for an event called "swimm at night". I modled a moon which has his little lamp and a floating tire (ready to swim at night).
I know it needs some improvement in shading and lightning

one strange thing is: I have put a point light into my lamp ( to make it shine) and the floating tire has some highlights because it gets lit. I used BasicShader on the moon and it seems like it gets not lit by the point light... maybe this is just a setting problem...

... but anyway... comments and critics are welcome

thanks

dines

07 July 2007
Nice!
I wouldn't look at it and think "moon" though - mostly because his shape (or her) varies from the crescent form quite a bit, looking a bit too soft and - err - sperm-like at the bottom.
The shading looks great though - a nice translucent feel without being overdone.

drip.de

07 July 2007
thanks dobermunk for your reply...
funny thought with the association of a sperm . And indeed if I would round up the top of the had... haha...

But this was meant to be some sort of comic style... but nice suggestion to sharpen the crescent and make ist not looking so smooth could be a good idea...

I also though of some glow but did not find a way to get this done with messiah... if anyone has a hint...

maybe with some particles ... but haven't played with particles yet...

07 July 2007
i agree. the shape doesnt read as moon. i think it needs to be more crescent like and maybe hint at some craters or something. it looks like a sperm KKK member.

07 July 2007
Very nice. Love to see any updates on this. I like the aneamic look and eyes, expression is good. To get the general shape exactly right could be very tricky!