Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 08-07-2013, 10:20 PM   #1
Bula
portfolio
USA

Should I be using Blender?

Hi,

I’m considering using Blender for a new project. I’ve been programming for over 34 years, but this is totally new to me (The CG, 3D…). My goal is to create an end application (Not Blender), which will allow the user to pose 3D skeletal people (or “stick figures”) frame by frame, and provide an end position in 3D space for each frame. Then allow the user to play back an animation of the “person” moving through 3D space. Basically, I want to create a simple 3D animation editor with playback. I assume I would have to use the game engine. This is a simplified description…

My question: Is Blender the engine I should be looking at? If not, do you have any suggestions?

Thank you in advance.

Old 08-09-2013, 05:20 PM   #2
glenmoyes
Scout
portfolio
Glen Moyes
Valencia, USA

That's a tough one. If you want to use a game engine I would recommend checking out Unity. You should be able to easily access the skeletal animation system they have in place, and you might get inverse kinematics for free. I've done very little dabbling in Unity, but from what I've seen of its scripting language(s) it's quite robust.

Old 08-09-2013, 06:55 PM   #3
Bula
portfolio
USA

Thanks glenmoyes,

I will check out Unity. The more I research Blender, the more I want to learn it. I don’t necessarily want to use the game engine; I just thought that using it might make my life easier. Am I barking up the wrong tree? I would need the IK, sound support, maybe some physics, and the ability to manipulate a number of simple “people” models through my own external code…

Last edited by Bula : 08-12-2013 at 04:18 PM. Reason: Clarification

Old 08-12-2013, 05:19 PM   #4
glenmoyes
Scout
portfolio
Glen Moyes
Valencia, USA