CGTalk > Software > Blender
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 11:48 PM   #1
AKhobbs
New Member
portfolio
Brian Hobbs
Anchorage, US
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Nvidia Quadro?

I am wondering if Blender Cycles is compatible with GPU rendering on a Nvidia Quadro k4000? I don't want to buy one a find out it doesn't work, seeing it costs quite a large sum of cash.
 
Old 05-03-2013, 01:49 AM   #2
hvanderwegen
Expert
 
hvanderwegen's Avatar
Herbert van der wegen
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 563
Just.... don't. Not worth the money. Instead, get a 580, which is three times faster than even a Tesla. Or a 680 with lots of gb. Either one will render much faster in Cycles than a Quadro.

http://www.systemagnostic.com/faqs/quadro-tesla/

Quadros are just not worth the money. Especially so for Cycles.
 
Old 05-05-2013, 08:08 PM   #3
AKhobbs
New Member
portfolio
Brian Hobbs
Anchorage, US
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Alright thank you.

I am likely to switch to 3ds max soon. Do you know if a Quadro k4000m would be better than a 680m in that case? I am planning on buying the most professional Mobile workstation possible.
 
Old 05-06-2013, 07:08 PM   #4
jtheninja
Doesn't Have a Title
portfolio
Jason Clarke
Generalist-type person
Portland, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKhobbs
Alright thank you.

I am likely to switch to 3ds max soon. Do you know if a Quadro k4000m would be better than a 680m in that case? I am planning on buying the most professional Mobile workstation possible.


It'll probably give better viewport performance in Max, but that's it. Btw, I'd strongly advise against using a laptop as your primary 3D workstation, period. The CPUs are far slower for the similar parts for a desktop, and you won't have to deal with screaming fans while rendering.
 
Old 05-06-2013, 09:54 PM   #5
AKhobbs
New Member
portfolio
Brian Hobbs
Anchorage, US
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
I agree with everything you just said. The only problem is that I MUST be portable. If it wasn't for that I would certainly be getting a desktop.
 
Old 05-18-2013, 07:53 AM   #6
Rawalanche
Senior Noob
 
Rawalanche's Avatar
portfolio
Ludvik Koutny
3D Generalist
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 325
Even in 3ds Max, it will perform significantly slower than regular high-end gaming cards. So yeah... just don't
__________________
http://raw.bluefile.cz/
 
Old 06-12-2013, 12:55 PM   #7
DragonSeer
New Member
portfolio
Dragon
Europa, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
I can confirm that the Quadro4000 does not work at all with Blender 2.67 in Cycles GPU rendering mode. The tech team ignored my request to purchase 580s and got quadro4000 instead. Now we have five mac pros and not one of them can render with GPU acceleration. Yes, I have the extra CUDA software installed.

I am living the American Dream..."pay more, get less"
 
Old 06-12-2013, 11:12 PM   #8
AKhobbs
New Member
portfolio
Brian Hobbs
Anchorage, US
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Thank you. That is exactly what I wanted to know. I will surly save a lot of cash.
 
Old 06-20-2013, 06:56 AM   #9
mib2berlin
Veteran
portfolio
Wolfgang
Home
Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
DragonSeer, Quadro 4000 should work with Cycles as 2.67 work with Cuda Capability 3.0 cards.

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

2.68 is planed to work with CC 3.5 cards Tesla K20, Titan for example.
I am not OSX user but iirc you need only newest Nvidia driver.

Cheers, mib.
 
Old 06-21-2013, 02:05 AM   #10
hvanderwegen
Expert
 
hvanderwegen's Avatar
Herbert van der wegen
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 563
And make sure to try some of the graphicall builds.
 
Old 07-01-2013, 05:26 AM   #11
Room335
Frequenter
 
Room335's Avatar
portfolio
Tim Formica
Orange County, United States
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
This site compares the different Nvidia / CUDA cards for Adobe products. Speed vs Costs etc.

Even though its not Blender its still comparing GPU rendering speeds for CUDA cores

http://www.studio1productions.com/A...PremiereCS5.htm

Blender CUDA Benchmarks

http://benchmark.cd3dtech.com/
__________________
See my SIGGRAPH 2008 video interview of AnimationMentor founders Shawn Kelly and Carloas Barena



 
Old 07-01-2013, 05:26 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.