How to begin the Hand modeling process on my model?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

07 July 2017
How to begin the Hand modeling process on my model?

Okay Hello, My name is Michael and I am a new student at Full sail. I am taking the Computer Animation Course Online since it was all I can afford. All other artschools were ridiculously expensive. Now I have to work even harder at finding information and getting ahead as there isn't an actual teacher always present to just ask. Online class gets Pretty Intensive during the actual animation lessons so i want to be ahead of the game of everything. I've been following many tutorials on character modeling as i want to create my own animation eventually. A character Right now is good enough.

THE PROBLEM. I followed this tutorial to create a Character Model. for the body it has been splendid. I learned tons of techniques. However. his character is an animal character. With 3 finger like claws instead of human Hands like my model. He adjusts his cylinder to create a shape to fit 4 finger appendages...How do I work in a way where I can get 5 fingers..here are some pictures of what i am working with..

Here is his video it begins around 18:09 mark where the hand process begins.*https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhltE8hZh4o&t=1129s

07 July 2017
Hello Michael,

I recommend searching and looking at topology and retopology references/videos. Sometimes you get one or the other but it is the same. Another term to look for is edgeflow for animation. I'm just guessing that you may not have an artist's tablet. So, box modeling and/or modeling from picture planes like you have been doing is the best method currently. Just keep looking at your topology references as you model.

--------------------------------------
Added information.