Using MEL to change mutilple MA files in a directory

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2013   #1
Using MEL to change mutilple MA files in a directory

I'm a rather novice programmer when it comes to MEL, so any help on this would be appreciated.

- I have a massive directory of asset folders (200+) and I need to open up each master file (ex. bucket_master.ma) which is contained in its own folder (ex. bucket) and run a script that will group, geo, clean up the file, change settings, etc. etc. I already have the clean up script completed. I just need to run it on the 200+ asset master files.

- I need to specify a top folder (ex. C:\project\props\) and then have the script search the subfolders within that (ex. C:\project\props\bucket) and find the _master.ma file, run the clean up script and move on to the next one.

- I've been looking up scripts on how to do this, but so far I've been unable to find one that seems to be fully automated. The one I tried previously requires all the master files to be in the same folder.

Any help would be appreciated?

Old 07 July 2013   #2
Additionally, so far I've tried creating a for loop for opening the files but it only seems to be opening just the first file in the string list

string $masterList[]=`getFileList -folder "Z:\\Projects\\props\\cakeCover\\" -filespec "*_master.ma"`;
for($i=0; $i<size($masterList); $i++)
{

file -type "mayaAscii" -open -f $masterList[$i];

// rest of the script //

};

There are three _master.ma files in that folder and they're being passed to $masterList just fine but its not running the script on the other _master files in the list.

Old 07 July 2013   #3
If you take a look at the contents of $masterList, it only contains the filename, not the full path. You need to reconstruct the path prior to the file open call otherwise you will get a file not found error.

e.g.