MEL Freezing Transforms has unexpected results

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2013
MEL Freezing Transforms has unexpected results

I am very new to MEL and have been trying to create a script that creates a curved backdrop by creating a profile curve that is duplicated 3 times and lofted. The issue I have run into is simple to work around, but I am just curious why I am getting this problem anyways. The code looks like this:

curve -p 0 0 0 -p 10 0 0 -p 14 0 0 -p 18 4 0 -p 19 12 0;
 duplicate -rr "curve1";
 move -4 0 10;
 rotate 0 -20 0;
 duplicate -rr "curve1";
 select curve3;
 move -4 0 -10;
 rotate 0 20 0;
 select curve1 curve2 curve3;
 loft -ch 1 -u 1 -c 0 -ar 1 -d 3 -ss 1 -rn 0 -po 0 -rsn true "curve3" "curve1" "curve2";
 DeleteHistory;
 rebuildSurface -ch 1 -rpo 1 -rt 0 -end 1 -kr 0 -kcp 0 -kc 0 -su 8 -du 3 -sv 6 -dv 3 -tol 0.01 -fr 0  -dir 2 "loftedSurface1";
 delete curve1 curve2 curve3;
 select loftedSurface1;
 rotate 0 90 0 ;
 scale 1.5 1.5 1.8;

//--------------

FreezeTransformations;
 makeIdentity -apply true -t 1 -r 1 -s 1 -n 0 -pn 1;

rename "loftedSurface1" "backDrop";

Now if I run the first part (up to the scale 1.5 1.5 1.8), and then run the freeze transforms bit immediately afterwards, everything works as expected, the new surface is rotated by 90 and scaled by 1.5 1.5 and 1.8. However, if I try running it all at once, the rotate 90 and scale commands don't get applied at all. I tried testing it with something even simpler:

sphere;
move 0 5 15;
rotate 0 20 45;
scale 5 4 3;

FreezeTransformations;
makeIdentity -apply true -t 1 -r 1 -s 1 -n 0 -pn 1;

This code works as expected when run all at once.