Independent Computation Thread

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2012   #1
Independent Computation Thread

Dear All,
I've been working with Maya API for a couple of months and I have a question about threading. I don't know much about the threading basics though. Just want to know if the case below is possible and how:

Say a node has expensive calculations which takes a long time. I want to create an independent thread that does the computation and on completion, updates the node internal data with results. Meanwhile I want to be able to continue working with maya. Just like the background rendering works.

Any response will be appreciated.

Thanks

Old 03 March 2012   #2
Consider the following. Create the node. In the node compute create your computation thread, and return a temporary result to maya. In the computation thread your can't interact with maya, except for the thread safe structures. When your thread finishes, it should signal maya to update the node, for example through the commandPort, or it should pop-up a message box, and you'll do the update manually.

Old 03 March 2012   #3
Ok. Two things:
One, you said:
In the computation thread your can't interact with maya, except for the thread safe structures.

Does this mean that I can't even update the node class's members? e.g. an array that holds the shape geometry. I want the thread to calculate the geometry and then update the node class member.

And two, I've created threads in a command plugin using maya's own thread api and while the thread is doing computation, maya is not free. I can't interact with it! so how should I create an independent thread? Os native threading? or maya's api has this feature?

I know threading is complicated and I'm asking for too much information but any keywords and tips will help me find my way around this.

Old 03 March 2012   #4
Research result