M1KES
Know-it-All
portfolio
Michael Gomes
Creature FX TD
MPC
Vancouver, Canada

Send a message via MSN to M1KES
How to rig something like this (spider type legs)

Hi everyone!
I am very new to rigging and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on where to start if i want to rig something like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfNyeOHXgGE

Its the way the legs bend i am interested. They look very flexible and like if they can bend at any point. I looked at some spider rigs but those usually have just 2 bending points.

It looks simple, so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. Or just give me the name of the rigging technique i should be searching for.

Any help would be appreciated as i am very new to rigging.

Old 06-03-2013, 02:18 PM   #2
theJackson
Veteran
portfolio
jackson five
no Company
Jersey

he might used spine IK or IK handle with RP solver. i don`t see anything spectacular about that legs though

Old 06-03-2013, 09:18 PM   #3
ldunham1
Character TD
portfolio
Lee Dunham
Character Rigger
Surrey, United Kingdom

Most likely a straightforward spline IK. Could possibly also be similar to a ribbon spine setup.

Old 06-04-2013, 12:47 AM   #4
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger

portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland

Another way to approach it is just to create curves for each leg and control the curve points with clusters or locators driving the curve points though direct connections. For something really curvy like that where the twist of the mesh (typically along the X axis in Maya) is less important it can be simpler than Spline IK (no joints or skinning involved for one thing).
Then just Extrude a circle curve along each leg curve and leave the history live so that it updates as you animate.

I wrote a script a while back to make setting up this kind of rig easier as I found it a little tedious in Maya (C4D has a built in 'tracer' curve that makes it very simple).