CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
battje
New Member
portfolio
Tomasz
Valestrandsfossen, Norway
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
HumanIK and Undo issue

Hello,

I'm trying to rig my character and I'm having strange issue :/... Every time I 'undo' something, everything gets broken...

example 1 - Skeleton creation...
Created the skeleton and want to resize it's bones to fit my character. Everything is great till I use 'Undo' (ctrl+z)... instead of undoing the last thing I have changed it completely resets. scale, place, everything in the skeleton

example 2 - Orienting Joints...
Now I have finaly adjusted my skeleton to my character without using undo once, mirrored the skeleton from left to right and now time for orienting joints. I do 'orient joints' first from skeleton menu then adjusting manualy those joints which are out of place. Everything works fine till I press Undo.. Instead of undoing last change it resets every joint to the stage before I used 'orient joints'

example 3 - Skinning...
Finally done both of the above without undoing once, time to skin the body.. from skin menu I'm using 'smooth skin'. So far so good... starting to paint weights and/or using component editior to change weights... When I use 'Undo' it breaks the entire mesh completely.

I was looking for a fix on the internet but couldn't find anything... I checked settings but couldn't find anything.

Please help, have to rig 5 characters for Uni and can't continue like this :/ ...

Things I have tried:

- resetting user preferences
- reloading mayaHIK plugin
- changing (QWERT) tool preferences

Thanks in advance

Last edited by battje : 05-02-2013 at 02:54 PM.
 
Old 05-27-2013, 05:19 AM   #2
magilla
guerilla
 
magilla's Avatar
portfolio
Cameron Crichton
Director
SubZero Media Productions
Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 457
you may be running out of memory - try setting the undo limit to finite and 20 in the preferences.

Try to replicate the issue on another computer, if it persists it may be your workflow.
__________________
______________________________________________
The Black Temple
 
Old 05-27-2013, 05:19 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.