CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 10:44 PM   #1
giordi
Expert
 
giordi's Avatar
portfolio
Marco Giordano
Creature TD
Double Negative
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
Maya tutorial : create a pose reader with native maya nodes

Hi everyone in this tutorial I am gonna show you how to build a basic pose reader with the use of
native maya nodes.
If you dont know what a pose reader is here it s an usefull link :
http://www.comet-cartoons.com/maya.html
It s basically a really usefull node written by the genius Michel Comet , years and years ago and since then
became a standard in pose space deformation!

here is the tutorial :

https://vimeo.com/64958089

enjoy
__________________
My website/blog , with a lot of tips&tricks about maya API,python,and pyqt , and tutorials
www.marcogiordanotd.com
llinkedin
 
Old 04-30-2013, 09:27 AM   #2
thematt
brain filler
 
thematt's Avatar
matt
EMCA
France
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,519
very nice and clear Marco! thanks a lot for that...actually you know you could use a Clamp at the end instead of the Condition node, also the locatorShape has a world position embelled to it, so no need for the decompose matrix
 
Old 04-30-2013, 09:40 AM   #3
giordi
Expert
 
giordi's Avatar
portfolio
Marco Giordano
Creature TD
Double Negative
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by thematt
very nice and clear Marco! thanks a lot for that...actually you know you could use a Clamp at the end instead of the Condition node, also the locatorShape has a world position embelled to it, so no need for the decompose matrix


hey man thanks ,
yeah there are several different nodes we can use to achieve the same result , regarding the example i used a locator but first i try to not realy on shapes you never know what can happend to the shape and often I use null instead of locators which dont hold any shape , so I just like to relay on a stable transform

but yeah if ur using locators that s a good tip since is one less node to compute !
__________________
My website/blog , with a lot of tips&tricks about maya API,python,and pyqt , and tutorials
www.marcogiordanotd.com
llinkedin

Last edited by giordi : 04-30-2013 at 09:44 AM.
 
Old 04-30-2013, 09:40 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.