Expression for wiggling snake

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2013
Expression for wiggling snake

Hello

I've made a snake, or more like a snail, creature. It bends its body vertically when it moves similar to how a snake wiggles but just on another axis. I've set it up as SDK with an attribute (a float but it could be an integer I guess) that performs "one bend" so to speak. I can move the animal forward and then key the attribute to perform the bend and relax part.

My question is how to make an expression to do this automatically, similar to how you would make a wheel roll when translating. I'm new to creating attributes and can't really figure out how it would work.

I understand that somehow I would have to decide that for "each X units of translation" the bend should happen and then relax.

I would really appreciate any help I can get.
Cheers,
Sibben

04 April 2013
Well, since you're using SDK, you have to have the values of the driver repeating I think. If the two ends of the SDK have the snake in the same position, then it's fairly easy. If this is the case, the driver has to get up to the maximum value, and then go back down to the minimum value. The modulo operation is great for this. I don't have Maya in front of me, but I think if you wanted to use translateZ to make the driver work, it would look something like this:

float $length=<insert length value here>;
snake.driver=snake.translateZ%$length;