Old 03-27-2013, 07:08 AM   #1
bluediamondphillips
Scout
portfolio
Russell
Northfield, USA

Controlling long toes with IK reverse foot

Hello,

I have a pretty basic setup on this frog I'm working on. The toes are all three joints, and I'm using group nodes to create the reverse foot. I'm pretty new to rigging, and I'm not really sure how other people handle this bit.

The issue is that, as opposed to other rigs I've seen, the Frog's toes are all long and spread out, so they won't all stay planted with the reverse foot, or "heel peel." So I selected the main toe that will stay planted and added an extra joint, from the top of the toe hierarchy to the tip and created an IK handle on this. The toe controllers are all connected to the toe joints in the connection editor.

This all works ok except that when the heel peels up the toes on either side of the main toe pivot down through the floor. So I put a set driven key animation on those toe's controllers, driven by the "heel peel" attribute to compensate.

This seemed like an ok solution except now that I've started animating I see that the SDK and any animation on the toe controller come into conflict and break the joint (SDK quits working when the toe is animated at any time). I tried to create SDK offset nodes for the toe controllers to be parented to, but when these nodes rotate they don't change the values on the controller object and so they don't work with the connections. So I tried changing out the connections in the connection editor for orient constraints but when I constrain each of the toe joints to the controller only the joint highest in the hierarchy rotates instead of curling each joint like I need.

I'm all out of ideas on this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Maya 2012

Old 03-28-2013, 04:30 AM   #2
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger

portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland