CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 06:13 PM   #1
Graphix72
Veteran
 
Graphix72's Avatar
portfolio
John LaBrie
N/A
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Double root controller??

I am rigging an airplane. When it's in the air, I want to have the root controller in the center of the mass, right between where the wings are. When it's on the ground, I want it down at ground level. How can I set this up?
__________________
John LaBrie
Interactive Media Designer
3Dlunatic@gmail.com
 
Old 03-20-2013, 09:05 PM   #2
ralphymeijer
Animator/3d generalist
 
ralphymeijer's Avatar
Ralph Meijer
Netherlands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 204
I would create one controller for the ground pivot point and use that one to move the plane around and rotate it on the ground. Then I would create another one at the center of the plane between the plane wings to rotate the plane in the air. So I would parent the plane geo under the center controller. Then parent the center controller under the ground controller.

This is how I would do it. Could be someone else has a better technique.

Good luck with the project.
 
Old 03-20-2013, 10:24 PM   #3
Graphix72
Veteran
 
Graphix72's Avatar
portfolio
John LaBrie
N/A
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Thanks, not sure if it will help me though. If the center controller is parented to the ground controller, then wouldn't it cause a problem when I move the plane around in the air?

I mean, grabbing and moving by the center controller would leave the ground controller behind, because the ground controller is not parented to it. In essence, the ground controller is my main "root" controller, right?

(Just to note, the ground controller is also a bit rotated from the center controller because when the plane is on the ground, the rear wheel touches down and the body of the plane is on an angle. It's a WWI type plane.) Not that this really makes any difference.
__________________
John LaBrie
Interactive Media Designer
3Dlunatic@gmail.com
 
Old 03-22-2013, 11:07 PM   #4
jonmummery
Veteran
portfolio
Jon Mummery
Senior Animator
Crytek
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
i would do same as post2.
But one way you could try is to create a locator. Orient and point constrain the root to the locator.
In doing so with an orient & point constrain, you can independantly animate their offset.
Therefore you could animate the offset from the locator when it is in the air to be at the value required to be between the wings. You could even set up a driven key to drive the offset.
This means you only need to animate one locator for air and land.
 
Old 03-22-2013, 11:07 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.