cshanks
Tribal Witch Doctor

Clay Shanks
Interface Artist
Turtle Rock Studios
San Francisco, USA

Send a message via Yahoo to cshanks
Setup for UDK Question

A buddy of mine gave me a rather odd mesh to rig for a UDK character. The mesh is all tri's and has quite a bit of anatomy/edge flow issues. I guess I have a couple of questions as I'm still fairly new to setting up characters -

Is it even possible to rig a character whose geo is built as tris? Would this cause issues in binding the skin and getting proper deformation? I'm guessing it's fairly important to have more geo around pinch points and proper edge flow around larger muscle masses.

I'm pretty sure he just ran his scuplt through decimation master and gave me the resulting model. I know it's not a great model and I'm pretty sure it's not usable from a rigging standpoint, but I wanna be sure before I bring it up to him.

Any help/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Old 03-01-2013, 11:53 AM   #2
jonmummery
Veteran
portfolio
Jon Mummery
Senior Animator
Crytek
United Kingdom

It should be fine to skin a tri model, you just have to be careful where the edges are hard/soft.
Personally i prefer my animated models to have tris, then I know which way an edge will bend once im animating it. If you have everything as quads then an edge could be displayed in two ways when twisting. Sometimes I think quads can leave too much up the computer to interpret where the edge is. For hard surfaces its not such a big deal to use quads but sometimes you kinda want to know what the edges doing. If its for the UDK engine it may render as tris anyhow as it will need to have some sort of edge in the end.

Old 03-02-2013, 08:10 AM   #3
refract
Expert

portfolio
John John
Character modeling, Lighting, Compositing
Work
Los Angeles, United States

Send a message via ICQ to refract Send a message via AIM to refract Send a message via MSN to refract Send a message via Yahoo to refract
Thats still a normal mesh. Its just showing edges.