Best Vray GI Render Settings for object floating in space

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2013
Best Vray GI Render Settings for object floating in space

Hey guys,

I am rendering a realistic object just floating in space.

1 dome light with a HDRI image attached. Multiple vray area lights and a couple of black cards to get the ideal reflections. The object has an object with refraction with high glossiness which i've heard Adaptive subdivision is good for scenes with refraction.

Rendering in linear workflow with 32bit exr. I have GI on but figured Irradiance Map + Light Cache was too accurate since there isn't that much bounce.

Would this be considered an exterior render?

I ended up using brute force to reduce noise and all and it still rendered faster then the IM+LC with adaptive DMC but I would like to know the smartest choices.

01 January 2013
I'm not a vray expert, but I think brute force is good for exteriors.
Brute force has a hard time trying resolve indirect lightning inside a interior, ie. sun outside and a small window.
I heard someone saying photon mapping is good for scenes with a lot of transparency, but I never did any test.
And they say(http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/150...magesampler.htm)
Adaptive dmc is better for scenes with lots of glossy, dof and complex textures. Adaptive subdivision is better for scenes with medium blurrys.
But adaptive dmc is a little harder to configure.

Adaptive subdivision acts like mental ray adaptive sampling.
And adaptive dmc acts more like mental ray unified sampling.

Last edited by Bilgames : 01 January 2013 at 05:31 AM. Reason: missed something

01 January 2013
If the object is just floating in space, why not use the dome light and then IM for secondary bounces with lower subdivs. The dome light should take care of most of it.

And then use the DMC sampler.

01 January 2013
Bilgames -