CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 04:18 PM   #1
farbtopf
New Member
portfolio
jens
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
image sequence caching problem

Hi there,

I've got a character that uses image sequences for textures to get a painterly effect.

There a re five file nodes with sequences, However for animation I would like to disable the image sequence because it causes heavy strobing when playing back.

I use driven keys to enable / disable the use image sequence option in the file node.

The problem is that it does not work, wether on or off maya still seems to read the sequence. I can see that the sequences are not actually playing but it's still super slow.

I've tried the interactive sequence caching, however that does not seem to do anything either. It seems whatever I enter there does not have any effect.

I've tried using the blend node with one file node using the sequence and the other reading a single file. -still slow

movie node is pretty much the same thing + it does not seem to be able to read the alpha from my sequence.

The only option that I can think of is create two separate scenes. One with image sequence for rendering and one without for animation.

I would really like to avoid doing that though as it's a small project with a pipeline that is a bit unconventional and I don't want to overcomplicate things.

Any suggestions on how to disable the image sequence loading and then 'switch' it back on, or on how to get the sequence cache working would be very much appreciated.

thanks
 
Old 08-28-2012, 04:43 PM   #2
Panupat
Expert
 
Panupat's Avatar
portfolio
Panupat Chong
Thailand
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,942
You might want to try pre render script to assign the animated shaders to your object on render time.

http://polygonspixelsandpaint.tumbl...post/8086060153
 
Old 08-28-2012, 05:09 PM   #3
farbtopf
New Member
portfolio
jens
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
thanks, that might be a way to do it. I think I'll make a shelve button though as one of the main things is that the animators can see the texture while playblasting.

cheers!

Ps if anyone knows how to get the sequence caching to work I'd still love to hear it.
 
Old 08-29-2012, 12:56 AM   #4
Panupat
Expert
 
Panupat's Avatar
portfolio
Panupat Chong
Thailand
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,942
Just found out in the manual that there is a "sequence caching" you can check in your file node

http://download.autodesk.com/global...mber=d30e563342
 
Old 08-29-2012, 10:21 AM   #5
farbtopf
New Member
portfolio
jens
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Thanks, does that work for you?

As I mentioned in my first post I've tried that and it seems wether I check it and whatever number I put into the sequence start / end fields does not seem to make a difference.

cheers
 
Old 08-31-2012, 04:55 PM   #6
newguy4life
Generalist
portfolio
Quin Barclay
3d Generalist
Chicago, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 198
I've had problems with the sequence caching too.

One alternative could be to grab everything in the scene and create a separate render layer. On this layer, assign some lambert shaders or something that works quickly to the stuff you are animating, and just do all the animating on that layer, but don't actually render it.
 
Old 08-31-2012, 04:55 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.