CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 12:58 AM   #16
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hezza
Would I gamma correct reflection/refraction colour swatches/textures too?


The only thing you don't gamma correct is stuff like normal maps, bump maps, etc. And there is no need to gamma correct HDR and EXR images because they are almost always linear already.
 
Old 03-08-2013, 09:09 PM   #17
Theiamania
Veteran
portfolio
Theiamania Theiamania
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 98
Hallo everybody,
I've just a little question about this thema:
Should I correct Gamma on a cube with red (Diffuse color)? I want to say, if I have a mesh with VrayMtl and color it red, this is all linear material and why shoud I correct it? Really would I apply a Gamma Correct to this material as .4545 as a sRGB texture (that is NON linear material)?
I'm very confused...
many thanks!
 
Old 03-09-2013, 05:39 PM   #18
Theiamania
Veteran
portfolio
Theiamania Theiamania
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 98
Unhappy

Another important question is if we ha to make on CONVERTIMAGE TO sRGB FRO RENDERVIEW...
 
Old 12-07-2013, 07:55 PM   #19
Yasush
New Member
portfolio
Yasush Azush
United%2BArab%2BEmirates
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Maya Vray Tutotial

I have written two different tutorials explaining interior lighting and studio lighting in maya for vray. It might help you!

http://www.yasushazush.com/maya-v-r...ing-nightlight/

http://www.yasushazush.com/maya-v-ray-rendering-basics/

Also never leave a HDRI intact as is, coz it will give you wrong result.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 03:04 PM   #20
Richard7666
Expert
portfolio
Richard
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 453
Question

Your last point is interesting; could you elaborate on why you add a "texture input gamma" attribute set to sRGB on your HDRI?
Is it because you're not using a V-ray physical camera?

I've always just left the gamma of my HDRIs at 1.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 03:24 PM   #21
Yasush
New Member
portfolio
Yasush Azush
United%2BArab%2BEmirates
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard7666
Your last point is interesting; could you elaborate on why you add a "texture input gamma" attribute set to sRGB on your HDRI?
Is it because you're not using a V-ray physical camera?

I've always just left the gamma of my HDRIs at 1.


Even with using a Physical camera you shouldn't leave the HDRI as is. My understanding is that HDRI's gamma by default is 1 so that will make it 2.2. Perhaps someone with more technical knowledge can answer that. My solution comes after many many comparing and trying out. But Im sure the result is significantly different and accurate.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 03:29 PM   #22
Richard7666
Expert
portfolio
Richard
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 453
You may be quite right, I've asked over on the Chaosforums to confirm, as it's not something I've ever done myself.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 03:31 PM   #23
Hezza
Bah!
 
Hezza's Avatar
Martin. B
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 436
I'm fairly rusty with v-ray these days but I wouldn't have thought you'd want to de-gamma anything that comes into maya as Linear (hdrs, 32 bit tiffs/exrs) as you will essentially be doing it twice.

You should be able to check easy enough with a chrome ball in your scene.
 
Old 12-19-2013, 07:06 AM   #24
Richard7666
Expert
portfolio
Richard
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 453
Just got a reply from Vlado: As I suspected, an HDR/exr should not need correcting: it is already linear.

However, I use Peter Guthrie HDRIs which have an excellent range of exposure, so you may indeed need to fiddle with gamma and gain to get the look you want with some lesser HDRIs. But that's just artistic rather than a technical guideline.

But with a properly-done HDRI, something like one of Peter's, or Hyperfocal Design etc, no, it does not need correction.
 
Old 12-19-2013, 07:06 AM   #25
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.