CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
overall VRay Gamma issue

im sure this has been up before - i just read the topic below about Gamma but it didnt answer my question so here goes - (i've had this work earlier so think i've just been away from Vray for too long)

on all my Textures in my scene i add a Texture Input Gamma note and set it to 0.454545 (it autocorrects itself to 0.5)

I render in the VRay Framebuffer and it looks Great. the .exr file maya automaticly saves into Images now, is really bright when i import it into After Effects, when in AE i turn off "color management" On for 32 Bit it goes Really Dark - from 1 extreme to another - but neither is similar to my render in my Viewport.
Also, i tried to manually save out the Rendered image from the VRay Render View, maya saves it as a Png file and each channel as an individual Png file, here as well, the colors are 1 extreme or the other.

under VRay Color Mapping in the Render Settings i have:

Linear Multiply
Dark Mult: 1
Bright Mult: 1
Gamma: 2.2

Affect Background On
Subpixel Mapping Off
Dont Affect colors On
Linear Workflow On


Can someone tell me what im messing up here?
thanks
much appriciated.
Adam
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-16-2012, 09:51 PM   #2
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
if you want to set up a LWF with Vray you should do this
This is my own workflow it might be different for other people ...

Color Mapping

Type
Linear Multiply (sometimes I use Reinhard as well)

Dark Multiplier > 1
Bright Multiplier > 1
Gamma > 2.2

Affect Background > on
Don't Affect Colors > on
Clamp Output > on
Affect Swatches > on

All textures which aren't linear
Enable Input Texture Correction
Gamma > 2.2

I do not use the Linear Workflow checkbox since is to make compatible old scenes ...

Also I use the Vray buffer which is a lot better than the Maya one ... make sure to click the sRGB button on the bottom .... so you see it properly on your monitor.

Color Swatches I add a Gamma Correction node from Utilities and the value is .454 (I have preset which is already set up for .454 so I dont have to do it manually )

I always render EXR 16bit for Beauties which is more than enough here at the studio that I work for ... then 32 bit for utilities passes ... Compression (scalineZIP)
in AE Im not sure ...I work in Nuke which is a lot easier for LWF

This way I always match where I see in Maya VFB and in my comp App .... which is what you want at end ...

I hope this helps ....
__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica

Last edited by SePu : 07-16-2012 at 09:54 PM.
 
Old 07-16-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
thanks man.

Question.

Color Swatches I add a Gamma Correction node from Utilities and the value is .454 (I have preset which is already set up for .454 so I dont have to do it manually )

- Is that the same im doing - under my Texture file go to to Attributes - VRay - Texture Input Gamma. ?
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #4
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
nop sorry ... what I meant is that to diffuse color or Reflection color, etc whenever you change colors in the Vray Material, I add a Gamma correction node. Whenever I use a texture I use the Attributes - VRay - Texture Input Gamma.

Does it make sense?
__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:18 PM   #5
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
mmm im not quiiite sure - however - following your steps above, clicking on show srgb in the VFB when i import my exr its the same as i see in my viewport - so something must be going the right way lol

this however - is after i went into my Gamma correction note and switched it from 0.4545 back to 2.2.. ?

so i guess what i dont understand is - you Are using the:
Texture Input Gamma on EVERY photoshop made texture set to 0.4545

AND if you wish to further correct your texture INSIDE maya, you add a Gamma correction note from Utilities?

... mmm .. its a little weird to me that it's now looking right when i import my exr into AE after Changing the Gamma correction note on my textures from 0.4545 to 2.2.

I used to use nuke as well for this stuff but my current shop uses AE so stuck with that :/
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:18 PM   #6
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
Here is kinda what I meant

__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:49 PM   #7
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
that actually was helpful thanks.

so - .. lets try again lol - The Attributes / VRay / Input Gamma Correct note you add to all textures and set it to 2.2. Furthermore, to every parameter you change (reflections, color, etc you add a ColorCorrect note from Utilities? in which you change the Gamma to 0.4545

Adam
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-16-2012, 10:53 PM   #8
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
just re-read what you wrote above..:
Whenever I use a texture I use the Attributes - VRay - Texture Input Gamma.

so when i use a Photoshop made texture.. i use that.. set to 2.2.
correct?

it seems to work Great now btw so much appriciate the help. only thing that doesnt look right, is if i save out pngs from the VRay render view.. that still looks dark, but the FBX files VRay saves into the images folder on its own, looks right on.
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-16-2012, 11:33 PM   #9
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
if you want to save PNG's you need to un check "Don't Affect Colors"

About Photoshop question yes, but just when you save as a non-linear image format ... such as, JPG, PNG, etc ....
__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica
 
Old 07-17-2012, 01:08 AM   #10
qup
PRO
Adam Oestergaard
Compositor/Motion Designer/3d Generalist
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via MSN to qup
thanks for the help dude
very helpful.
__________________
Adam Oestergaard
www.adamoe.com
 
Old 07-17-2012, 05:42 AM   #11
noiseOfId
PRO
portfolio
Johannes Albrecht
flwin', Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 63
A little question here:
Why do you use the gamma Utilities if you set Affect Swatches to be "on"?
cheers
 
Old 07-17-2012, 06:44 PM   #12
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
because "affect swatches" check box, changes the display of the swatch in the attribute editor for vray materials so that they show the effect of your color mapping choices. it doesnt render properly you can test it out yourself .... when you change the diffuse color usually will render brighter of what you see in the vray material ... that is why you apply a Gamma Correction node and change the value ... hopefully this make sense ...
__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica
 
Old 07-18-2012, 06:14 AM   #13
noiseOfId
PRO
portfolio
Johannes Albrecht
flwin', Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 63
Hm, i just tested it and I am getting the very same result as on the shader ball.
Actually the way I would expect it and how I feel it should be, but maybe I am missing something here.
However I agree on the workflow when using textures and the rest of the colors could be eyeballed anyway
 
Old 07-30-2012, 11:23 AM   #14
Hezza
Bah!
 
Hezza's Avatar
Martin. B
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 436
Would I gamma correct reflection/refraction colour swatches/textures too?
 
Old 07-30-2012, 10:23 PM   #15
SePu
Expert
 
SePu's Avatar
portfolio
Hernan S
Senior 3D / VFX Artist
Sony Entertainment
San Francisco, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 778
Send a message via AIM to SePu
yes, you would as well
__________________
LDEA Kon Kuatica
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.