CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 09-09-2013, 07:45 PM   #1
Flyer93
portfolio
Costa Rica

Fire effect: The better way to do it.

Hi there, I'm a CG student and this is my first post in this forum!

I'm working in a project which we have to develop a some kind of weird fire, it's like a giant bonfire, (that was the explanation of our customer) and I began to make experiments with Fire effect of the Maya Dynamics, I began to read about the settings and make some tests, and well, I'm not the happiest man of the world with that fire, I need that the flames follow lik a cone shape, so, I made a collider cone shape but the particles of the fire doesn't crash with the cone shape, and well, the visual quality of the fire isn't the best, and I heard that in 3Ds Max we can reach a better quality, and I would like to listen you about some pieces of advice that you can give me.

Every extra piece of advice will be accepted, in special if it's about the Mental Ray render settings that improve the quality of the fire.

Greetings.

Old 09-10-2013, 12:18 PM   #2
thematt
brain filler

matt
EMCA
France

get some of the fluids fire that are in the visor and start with that.

Old 09-10-2013, 07:03 PM   #3
Flyer93
portfolio
Costa Rica

Quote:
Originally Posted by thematt
get some of the fluids fire that are in the visor and start with that.

Yeap, I've already started with it, but I need that the particles make a collision with an object in the scene, I created a object, a passive collider and after that I began with the particles, and the particles didn't crash with the object. :/

With particles do we need a special collider objects to make a crash with particles?

Old 09-12-2013, 11:21 PM   #4
Rynnie
portfolio
Ryan Genchev
Sofia, BG