CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 03:01 PM   #1
Blur abuser
Sowiedu's Avatar
Patrick Probst
3D Artist
Germany, Germany
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 228
Point-caching Ocean object


I wanna use the ocean object in maya to create an ocean plane which I then want to be exported to 3ds max for further treatment/rendering.
I just can't manage to bake the geometry into a point cache for max.
Is this the wrong way? I've tried exporting a high-res preview plane but o luck there. And I can't manage to get the actual plane which is getting rendered to display at an acceptable level of detail.
Old 11-27-2012, 03:00 AM   #2
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,992
If you convert displacement to poly with history then you will have a mesh you could then bake the animation on.
Old 11-27-2012, 03:00 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.