Old 09-28-2013, 01:49 AM   #1
Fess
tapping his potential

portfolio
Jason Mohan
Animation/VFX/Lighting
Digital Domain

Question Traveling Blooms (Car surface)

played with a way to do this with a animated texture in maya>use as a matte in AfterEffects & bloom it, but was wondering if anyone had a nicer technique:

I want this hot bloom to follow the contour of the car as it travels with the camera and then passes it (see attachemnt)

any input is appreciated,
Best,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F6SunReflection3.JPG (39.6 KB, 16 views)

Old 09-29-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
catche
Expert
portfolio
Jan Petter Grashei
Sandnes, Norway

I'm not an expert, but these are my thoughts: since it looks like it's more than a glow effect you're after I'd suggest using either the standard motion tracker or mocha that also comes with newer versions of AE to 2d track the position of the highlight. Might not track very well if the highlight is stretched out a lot, but you can go in and animate the tracker in problem areas yourself after you have something you can work with.

Hope that helps.

Old 09-29-2013, 05:37 PM   #3
Fess
tapping his potential

portfolio
Jason Mohan
Animation/VFX/Lighting
Digital Domain

Quote:
Originally Posted by catche
I'm not an expert, but these are my thoughts: since it looks like it's more than a glow effect you're after I'd suggest using either the standard motion tracker or mocha that also comes with newer versions of AE to 2d track the position of the highlight. Might not track very well if the highlight is stretched out a lot, but you can go in and animate the tracker in problem areas yourself after you have something you can work with.

Hope that helps.

catche, thnks for the input

That is just a photo of some randomAzzz car to illustrate my idea. I want to actually have the hightlight travel along a contour on the car in Maya, render out a matte and blast it with OpticalFlares in AE.

Old 10-03-2013, 11:44 PM   #4
Midgardsormr
Frequenter
portfolio