Using keyable objects

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2013   #1
Using keyable objects

Hey guys, I am an animator and looking at playing around with some green screen and compositing type stuff. I watched a cool spot the other day that I want to see if I can replicate it in a test. It was a hand with a CG hammer in it.

So my question would be, is there a standard time when you would use a green object (in this example it would be the hammer) and key it out to add a 3D version in? You will still have to rotoscope things I would assume? Is that method used for getting the position of the thumb right for holding onto the handle? Thanks for any help is it greatly appreciated

I'd be using C4D and CS6 for any post work if that matters.

Old 08 August 2013   #2
In that particular instance, yes, a chroma-green object held in the hand could be useful if it's lit properly. The fact that it's green isn't enough—you have to have relatively even lighting across the parts of the object that are going to be used in a matte. If you've got dark, moody lighting, with the hammer half in shadow, then it doesn't matter what color it is; you're not going to get a good key from it.

Depending on the skin tone of the hand holding the hammer, you may run into some difficulty with spill—green light reflected onto the hand by the hammer's surface. Typically, spill is controlled by moving the subject away from the screen, but that's not going to be possible in this instance. It can take some work to get a good key in that instance, and sometimes roto is simply faster.

Since you're dealing with a rigid object, roto may very well be much more straightforward than a key. If the hand is not moving around too much, then Mocha (a version comes with After Effects) will probably get you a good matte very quickly.