Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #1
Buzert
Frequenter
portfolio
Trick Ster
Vancouver, Canada

Best encoding workflow for 3d images to video

Hello I'm an experienced 3D artist and I'm trying to find the most optimal way to achieve the highest level of video encoding.

I'm rendering either 720 or 1080 still images to .tif format. Then I put it all together in adobe premiere. Once it's ready for export I use a mpeg 4 container with the H.264 codec to adobe encore.

I'm not sure what all of the settings for the h.264 mean but I set the fps to 30, the encoding pass to complex and usually leave the 2 quality sliders at default. I've tried raising them before but the video does not play as smooth.

The videos look good, but blu ray movies look better especially when I watch other 3d movies like Shrek. There seems to be less banding and compression in real blu-ray movies, even the ones I download.

So is there a better workflow to getting the absolute best quality out of a video?

Last edited by Buzert : 11-17-2012 at 12:15 AM.

Old 11-15-2012, 01:52 PM   #2
alinspired

portfolio
Ali Karim
3D VFX Artist
Alinspired Studios
Wembley, United Kingdom

Smile

hi

why dont you try not using h.264 as that is a lossy format design for the net and streaming, instead use something like the quicktime animation format as this is lossless.

although your looking at a huge file size but its great quality.

if you want it for dvd or blue ray use the mpeg2 format as this is ideal for that kind of distribution.

thanks hope it helps

Old 11-16-2012, 11:58 PM   #3
Buzert
Frequenter
portfolio
Trick Ster
Vancouver, Canada

okay now were getting somewhere. I see now that I need to leave more info. Here is what I'm doing exactly and the criteria I need to meet.
  • my videos are about 3 mins long
  • consist of about 5000 rendered images equaling about 17gigs in total