CGTalk > Sponsored Challenges and Awards > Past Challenges (Archives) > Older Challenges (before 2004) > Visual F/X Challenges (Archive)
Login register
  share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2002, 03:32 AM   #1
lildragon
Enter the Forum Leader
 
lildragon's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Tito Belgrave
Character Artist - Freelance
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via Yahoo to lildragon

Please Submit Your Entries

Heya guys, please submit your entries to the cgchallenge website. I'll give you all a few hours to submit them.... Please do so promptly!

salud
 
Old 12-09-2002, 04:03 AM   #2
3dsmax5
Grrrrrrrr!!!
 
3dsmax5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 109
It would only accept .jpg files...I guess a 150k .mov would have looked bad anyways.
__________________
Fear my nasty and sharp teeth!
 
Old 12-09-2002, 04:08 AM   #3
lildragon
Enter the Forum Leader
 
lildragon's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Tito Belgrave
Character Artist - Freelance
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via Yahoo to lildragon

Yes I believe Leo is still tackling this feature, but DO get your pic up for the time being...

salud
 
Old 12-09-2002, 07:42 AM   #4
Arioch
Veteran
 
Arioch's Avatar
Michael Johnson
Fullerton, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 94
What file size should we be shooting for when it comes to the upload? I know the 150K limit on the challenge site is for jpegs and that the quicktime module isn't coded yet but I thought I read 500k in someone's thread before the rollback and that seems tiny. It's difficult to get my comp below 2 megs. I think the fact that our movies are shaking gives very little to the compressor to work with as far as recycling stationary pixels.

Also do you guys actually have a sorenson 2 compression option? How did you get it. I've been keeping my quicktime program current throught the last few versions but all I have available are sorenson 1 and 3.
__________________
Mike Johnson
 
Old 12-09-2002, 08:05 AM   #5
Mouser
Veteran
 
Mouser's Avatar
Glenn Capps
Compositor
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to Mouser
did I miss the window to submit?? I was gone for 4 hours... the CG Challenge site is down now.... <sigh> oh well I guess next time I'll be here when the gates open
__________________
_^___^_
~mouser
 
Old 12-09-2002, 08:09 AM   #6
johs
Frequenter
 
johs's Avatar
Johannes
VFX dude
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 126
As far as i know (for shake), the regular sorenson codec, is sorenson2

About compression, I can get my clip dow to 1 meg. but it looks like crap, I would prefere 1,5 - 2 megs. And its fine with me, if we should host it ourselves.
__________________
-johs
 
Old 12-09-2002, 08:12 AM   #7
CobraX
Know-it-All
 
CobraX's Avatar
portfolio
Xavier L.
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 480
Arioch,

About the sorenson, i am compositing with combustion 2. When i render using Quicktime Streaming, for the sorensons i get to chose between Sorenson and Sorenson 3.

I chose Sorenson cause when i go in "options" it says version 2.02 or something like that. So i guess it's the one we have to use.

But as you, i am totally lost...i looked around for this codec...i assume that my choice is right as we haven't been briefed on what, where, how...

So there you go this is what i did, now if anyone else could give us a hint.
 
Old 12-09-2002, 08:16 AM   #8
CobraX
Know-it-All
 
CobraX's Avatar
portfolio
Xavier L.
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 480
Arrow I have a clue

...hehehe i know why the deadline to the challenge has been extended..

...and why all the cgtalk database has "crashed".




it's because somebody didn't finish his Challenge...someone who can easily deactivate the database....someone with yoda as avatar

Just fooling around...it's late here...aaahhh i am off to bed..

You are doing an awesome JOB guys to make us HAPPY and Thank you for that

Take care y'all!!!
 
Old 12-09-2002, 08:42 AM   #9
johs
Frequenter
 
johs's Avatar
Johannes
VFX dude
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 126
Is it my internet connection that sucks, or is the cgchallenge site unavailable. I get a "Could not connect to database." error message, hope it not means everything has to be roled back again.
__________________
-johs
 
Old 12-09-2002, 09:22 AM   #10
vfx
Lead TD
 
vfx's Avatar
portfolio
Dominic Alderson
Lead TD / Artist / Film Maker
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,884
Can someone just clear up whats going on? I can't connect tot he challenge website so I can't submit. Uhh, Hope this means I can work on it a little longer! HEH HEH

Update: Ok all works now, but I am still unaware as to what is going on as regards the time allowed in which to upload my piece, got to render it out in this sorensen but im away from the computer today.

Last edited by vfx : 12-09-2002 at 11:17 AM.
 
Old 12-10-2002, 02:43 AM   #11
lildragon
Enter the Forum Leader
 
lildragon's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Tito Belgrave
Character Artist - Freelance
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,577
Send a message via Yahoo to lildragon

Hi guys, you where just required to upload your pics, as Leo didn't have anytime to implement the quicktime upload feature b4 his vacation... he'll get on it when he returns...

hectic hectic I tells ya I guess that's why he got me some php/MySql books

salud
 
  share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.