portfolio
Alican Serbest
Animator
Babun Film
Istanbul, Turkey

Send a message via MSN to madcan
The Automat - Short CG Animation

Hi everyone,

I'm Alican Serbest. I've been directing short films since 1999 with a group I founded called Babun Film. You can see some of our work at www.babun.org. I also worked as a professional compositing artist between 2006-2011 and worked on a lot of commercials and feature films. For the last 1.5 years I've been working as a character animator while also being an animation student in Animation Mentor from which I graduated last December.

For the last few years, I had this short animation project waiting on side called The Automat, which is about a lonely guy in a not too distant future where our planet is invaded by a giant alien species who took our water sources. Even though they are not aggressive, their sizes and their search for liquid resulted in great devastation and our civilization crumbled. In that future, our lonely and nameless hero strikes a one-sided friendship with a woman in a picture on a vending machine. And when that automat is taken by aliens for the liquid inside, he goes after it.

We started this project recently. Concept arts are finished and for production part, we got some very talented people in our crew who are already working on it. Ensar Yanar and Kaan Kucuk are doing character models (EDIT: Unfortunately Ensar Yanar became unavailable after our project started so we need a very experienced character modeler for our main character). Alper Aksit , who is also currently working in Double Negative as an animator, is our animation supervisor. Pavel Cucka will be leading our matte painters. There are also other modelers responsible for different aspects of our project.