Old 03-11-2011, 07:28 PM   #1
spacerweb
starlighter
Igor Jovanovic
FX Techinal Director
London, United Kingdom

Future of Maya?

Hi all,

first of all, i encourage everyone not to take this post as some kind of starting some war in between of the 3D app's out there, but rather as sharing some industry expirience, and objectice comparassion with other 3D applications.

My question is what do you think will happen to maya? Right now, especially after i saw this latest annoucement, i don't fell that i can use maya for my future work, since enabling me to drive cars in my 2.0 viewport, isn't something i really want...if i wanna play games, i'll do just that.

My main concern is regarding the dynamics. Since i am an FX artist, i would just like to know if anyone out there knows, will i have to struggle for another year, till the release of 2013, and get some major improvements to be able to be productive as an average max user, or it's pointless even thinking Autodesk will ever put some usable dynamics/FX features in maya.
Right now, i am thinking that the best software to have the knowledge right now is Houdini, 3DsMax, Softimage. And i can see a real change of the studios out there looking for FX artist...they are all shifting their desires to that one should have the knowledge of Houdini, FumeFX, Krakatoa. No wonder, since their productivity is waaaaay ahead of artists using Maya.

So, not to elaborate more on this one, i believe that almost every FX artist feels the same way, especially after watching that annoucement for 2012, and my question is pretty understandable.