CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2014, 10:30 AM   #1
Pinokio28
Veteran
 
Pinokio28's Avatar
portfolio
Pune, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 64
Camera Question

Hi everyone,

I would like to know how can I increase the width of how much a camera can capture as an image.
I tried the focal length and film gate - they actually zoom out to do this. I dont want a zoom out. I just need the camera to capture more in width.

Thanx in advance.
 
Old 01-09-2014, 11:59 PM   #2
RodK
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Hi!
I am afraid this does not seem like a sensible question to me.
Camera angle and focal length are connected, so to widen your field of view you will have to either back up the camera (increase distance from the object) or increase the focal length.
However, you can change the image ratio in the render settings (increase image width) AND back up the camera (and turn on resolution gate) which will leave you with the same space covered in height but a wider field of view.

hope that helps,
cheers
 
Old 01-10-2014, 03:50 AM   #3
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
ya, what looks like zooming out is just an increase in viewing angle. You have to move the camera in because you're seeing more with a wider angle.
 
Old 01-10-2014, 04:55 AM   #4
Digit
_____
 
Digit's Avatar
portfolio
Andy
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Pinokio, do you mean you simply want the image to be wider? That is to say thay you want to change the ratio of the image? If so, then you just want to go to render settings and change your resolution and then make sure you can see the resolution gate in your viewport. Is that right? Maybe not!
 
Old 01-10-2014, 04:00 PM   #5
Pinokio28
Veteran
 
Pinokio28's Avatar
portfolio
Pune, India
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 64
In reply to RodK, cgbeige and Digit.

Hey guys thanx for the response..

Found it quite helpful what you have said..
I actually increased the focal length and changed the resolution on my image.

Thanx for the advices...
 
Old 01-10-2014, 04:00 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.