New to character animation - Need help

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2014   #1
New to character animation - Need help

Hi there,

I'm currently working on a character, which I want to animate. But except for some camera movement animations, I have NO experience with animation what so ever.
I will watch a lot of tutorials, but unfortunately my character needs specific approaches, I guess.

Here is my character (WIP):

The first things I want to do is to make the eyes work.
Now the eyes are just a texture, and I believe maybe that's the best option to go with, as the character doesn't have any eye sockets, and basically I wouldn't know how else to do this.
How would you do this? Is it possible to use blend shapes for textures only? Or is that silly?

The second thing is that I need to make him able to move. How do I rig his lower body? Can I put a sphere inside him and use it as a bone or something? I don't want him to hop when he moves but more like shoving / hobbling (not sure how to explain this in words lol).

I would love to see some ideas and maybe get some useful tips or links.

Thanks for reading!
Most updates here

Last edited by FerryP : 01 January 2014 at 01:27 PM.

Old 01 January 2014   #2
oops.........

Old 01 January 2014   #3
Originally Posted by fleabay: oops.........

???..........
Most updates here

Old 01 January 2014   #4
This is the rig so far. It still needs a lot of work, because the weights are poor, and the movements are not always doing what I want them to do.
Again..pointers are really welcome.

Still no solution for the eyes, except for my idea with animated textures and blend shapes.

Thanks!
Most updates here

Old 01 January 2014   #5
Originally Posted by FerryP: This is the rig so far. It still needs a lot of work, because the weights are poor, and the movements are not always doing what I want them to do.