Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 12-23-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
damjan
Frequenter

Damjan
vienna, Austria

change default viewport lighting?

I am new to maya, and one thing that bothers me - is that regardless of the viewport renderer, the default light looks rahter dull.
(Coming from a max background - there it is the same, but i gave up finding a way to change it..)
My wish would be a 3-point light setup, that links to the view camera and doesnt interfere with render lights - is there a script/plugin out there?

Old 12-23-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
klaudio2u
Expert

portfolio
Klaudio
Croatia

I think that is not possible. With some script or something perhaps yes but as is...it's as is.

It would be very nice to have couple of default material/lightning presets for viewport when modeling and not only that dark gray lambert material which is actually very bad for viewing mashes when modeling...at least it is for me.

Old 12-23-2013, 10:54 PM   #3
InfernalDarkness
Madness. Madness, I say!

portfolio
Sho Pi
CG arch/viz
Seattle, USA

It's pretty simple to do something like this, however you don't need a script or anything to do so. Simply set up your lights in a blank scene, attach them to your camera and save the scene, and either start new scenes off with this as your default or import the lights and link them to your camera afterwards.

I do this type of thing with my material shaders. I have a default scene for kitchens and another for bathrooms, which have most of the shaders I generally use already set up. It really saves time!

"Like stone we battle the wind... Beat down and strangle the rains..."

Last edited by InfernalDarkness : 12-23-2013 at 10:59 PM.

Old 12-24-2013, 01:53 AM   #4
damjan
Frequenter

Damjan
vienna, Austria

that would work, but only if i can split render and viewport light later on?
so that later placed render lights dont interfere with the viewport, and my viewport rig doesnt show up in the render..