CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
damjan
Frequenter
 
damjan's Avatar
Damjan
vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
change default viewport lighting?

I am new to maya, and one thing that bothers me - is that regardless of the viewport renderer, the default light looks rahter dull.
(Coming from a max background - there it is the same, but i gave up finding a way to change it..)
My wish would be a 3-point light setup, that links to the view camera and doesnt interfere with render lights - is there a script/plugin out there?
 
Old 12-23-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
klaudio2u
Expert
 
klaudio2u's Avatar
portfolio
Klaudio
Croatia
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 262
I think that is not possible. With some script or something perhaps yes but as is...it's as is.

It would be very nice to have couple of default material/lightning presets for viewport when modeling and not only that dark gray lambert material which is actually very bad for viewing mashes when modeling...at least it is for me.
 
Old 12-23-2013, 10:54 PM   #3
InfernalDarkness
Madness. Madness, I say!
 
InfernalDarkness's Avatar
portfolio
Sho Pi
CG arch/viz
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,590
It's pretty simple to do something like this, however you don't need a script or anything to do so. Simply set up your lights in a blank scene, attach them to your camera and save the scene, and either start new scenes off with this as your default or import the lights and link them to your camera afterwards.

I do this type of thing with my material shaders. I have a default scene for kitchens and another for bathrooms, which have most of the shaders I generally use already set up. It really saves time!
__________________
Commodore 64 @ 1MHz
64KB RAM
1541 Floppy Drive


"Like stone we battle the wind... Beat down and strangle the rains..."

Last edited by InfernalDarkness : 12-23-2013 at 10:59 PM.
 
Old 12-24-2013, 01:53 AM   #4
damjan
Frequenter
 
damjan's Avatar
Damjan
vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
that would work, but only if i can split render and viewport light later on?
so that later placed render lights dont interfere with the viewport, and my viewport rig doesnt show up in the render..
is that possible?
 
Old 12-24-2013, 04:29 PM   #5
Panupat
Expert
 
Panupat's Avatar
portfolio
Panupat Chong
Thailand
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,942
You'll have to turn them on/off manually I suppose.

Another way would be to create render layers.
 
Old 12-31-2013, 01:34 AM   #6
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
First, just so you know, of course you can have that kind of control on lights. Not only if they render but also what objects they effect and so on. Just as you can with other apps so it is likely something you are familiar with already.

For your view port lights, here are 2 very simple ways I know of to set them up so that they do not render.

First you can simply set the object display to Template in the Attribute Editor. This will work for the default viewport render and viewport 2.0 but not for High Quality.

Another option is to simply put all those lights in a display layer and set it to Template or if you want to use High Quality Viewport then this is an easy way to toggle them on or off as needed for a render
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 12-31-2013, 01:34 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.