CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2013, 07:06 PM   #1
jamesbeavers91
New Member
portfolio
26 eastlands
newcastle, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Question Maya Geomatry looking odd

My model is fine but for some reason there is an edge loop on my model but the geometry sticks out like a sore thumb for some reason and I can't seem to figure out why this is, can anyone help?

http://i354.photobucket.com/albums/...-10at190446.png
 
Old 12-10-2013, 10:11 PM   #2
zaskar
Expert
portfolio
franky****inFourFingaz
-
Dresden, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 321
Looks like lamina faces...
 
Old 12-10-2013, 10:31 PM   #3
vancliff
Expert
portfolio
Ivan Agustin Pedraza Peluffo
Barranquilla, Colombia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to vancliff Send a message via Yahoo to vancliff
Can you show a shaded wirframe?
 
Old 12-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #4
gmask
Obfuscator
 
gmask's Avatar
gmask
Power Sitting
Topanga, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,937
maybe you need to smooth the normals?
__________________
blah blah blah
 
Old 12-11-2013, 12:50 AM   #5
jamesbeavers91
New Member
portfolio
26 eastlands
newcastle, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Photos of problem

I've tried to smooth the normals but it makes no difference.

here is the mesh with 3 clicked and here is it normally.

When i deleted the edges and extruded an edge back it went away until it got to the beak, i think the problem is stemming from there.

http://i354.photobucket.com/albums/...-11at004826.png

http://i354.photobucket.com/albums/...-11at004815.png
 
Old 12-11-2013, 10:41 AM   #6
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
After you extrude, merge points. There seems to be a bug with it. If you select all of the points it will read some huge number way off from how many are selected then when you merge it will return that number to the correct number. I get this all the time when I extrude. For some reason it leaves an extra set of faces basically edges with 0 length that you can find with clean up and delete that way if you want.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 12-17-2013, 07:39 PM   #7
vancliff
Expert
portfolio
Ivan Agustin Pedraza Peluffo
Barranquilla, Colombia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to vancliff Send a message via Yahoo to vancliff
After seeing your wireframe it seems like open vertex. Go inside your mes and select those vertex with a rectangular selection and then use edit mesh, merge vertex in both points, also try with edges too, merge edges.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 04:05 AM   #8
jgibz
Lord of the posts
 
jgibz's Avatar
portfolio
Jack Gibbons
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 787
Looks like your normals are flipped. Try: Normals > Conform.
 
Old 12-18-2013, 04:05 AM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.