CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2013, 02:01 PM   #1
PokerG
Veteran
Gary Jones
Freelance
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
Anyone use 'Send to 3ds Max'?

Just wondering what you might roundtrip to Max for as deciding on whether to add it to my suite.

Cheers,

G
 
Old 08-06-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
FerryP
Parttime lurker
 
FerryP's Avatar
portfolio
Ferry Passchier
2D/3D artist
The Hague, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 217
I do, I only don't like how it messes up the mesh quite often.
It converts is to fbx in the background, I guess. You get all triangles, which sucks.
Not that I know of a better way to transfer a model from max to maya tho :(
__________________
Ferry Passchier [2D/3D Visualizer + Fan Photographer]
Facebook - Twitter - Instagram
^
Most updates here
 
Old 08-07-2013, 02:10 AM   #3
PokerG
Veteran
Gary Jones
Freelance
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
Surely the round-tripping to Max doesn't force it all to triangles, that would be useless for so many workflows.

Is there not an option?

What were you hoping to do in Max that was easier/better than Maya?
 
Old 08-07-2013, 05:52 AM   #4
royg
---
Roy
City, Afghanistan
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by FerryP
I do, I only don't like how it messes up the mesh quite often.
It converts is to fbx in the background, I guess. You get all triangles, which sucks.
Not that I know of a better way to transfer a model from max to maya tho :(
obj. fbx direct. Both methods work fine, no triangulation.
 
Old 08-07-2013, 07:27 AM   #5
FerryP
Parttime lurker
 
FerryP's Avatar
portfolio
Ferry Passchier
2D/3D artist
The Hague, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by royg
obj. fbx direct. Both methods work fine, no triangulation.


Thanks! I will try this at home later today
__________________
Ferry Passchier [2D/3D Visualizer + Fan Photographer]
Facebook - Twitter - Instagram
^
Most updates here
 
Old 08-08-2013, 12:50 AM   #6
PokerG
Veteran
Gary Jones
Freelance
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
That is reassuring.

What are people using Max for in their pipelines that makes the Send to Max a benefit worth paying for?
 
Old 08-08-2013, 08:31 AM   #7
FerryP
Parttime lurker
 
FerryP's Avatar
portfolio
Ferry Passchier
2D/3D artist
The Hague, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerG
That is reassuring.

What are people using Max for in their pipelines that makes the Send to Max a benefit worth paying for?


Evermotion models :P
Not just that...a lot of downloadable models are often in .max format.
I also like modeling better in 3ds max, especially when modeling simple things.
__________________
Ferry Passchier [2D/3D Visualizer + Fan Photographer]
Facebook - Twitter - Instagram
^
Most updates here
 
Old 08-08-2013, 12:49 PM   #8
lazzhar
Lazhar Rekik
 
lazzhar's Avatar
portfolio
Lazhar Rekik
3D and stuff
Algeria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by FerryP
Evermotion models :P
Not just that...a lot of downloadable models are often in .max format.
I also like modeling better in 3ds max, especially when modeling simple things.


In that case "Send to Maya" would be more important not the opposite me thinks.
__________________
Lazhar Rekik
 
Old 08-08-2013, 12:59 PM   #9
FerryP
Parttime lurker
 
FerryP's Avatar
portfolio
Ferry Passchier
2D/3D artist
The Hague, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazzhar
In that case "Send to Maya" would be more important not the opposite me thinks.


True...silly me :P
__________________
Ferry Passchier [2D/3D Visualizer + Fan Photographer]
Facebook - Twitter - Instagram
^
Most updates here
 
Old 08-09-2013, 02:07 AM   #10
Hans-CC
VisualFX Artist
 
Hans-CC's Avatar
portfolio
Hans Castro
San Jose, Costa Rica
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
in max , select all objects and add an editpoly modifier on top of all , then use the send to maya operation , that way all the objects will reach maya as they where in max (quads for what matters).

Hans
 
Old 08-09-2013, 02:17 AM   #11
Hans-CC
VisualFX Artist
 
Hans-CC's Avatar
portfolio
Hans Castro
San Jose, Costa Rica
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazzhar
In that case "Send to Maya" would be more important not the opposite me thinks.


FumeFx,rayfiretool,thinking particles among others are quite useful if you have access to them, send to max help to transfer scenes or parts of then to max to use those plugins !!

Hans
 
Old 08-09-2013, 02:17 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.