CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2013, 12:58 AM   #1
TheMzk
New Member
portfolio
Murtaza Kathawala
Dubai, AE
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Smooth Issue in Maya

Hey,
I'm really new to Maya and i am having this weird issue with most of the polygons that i am trying to smooth.

This is what i am trying to smooth, i have done extrude and added Edge Loops to it.


and this is what i get when do smooth preview (by hitting 3)



I know i'm making a silly mistake here but this is really frustrating and i couldn't find anything when i searched online.

Thank you so much! )
 
Old 07-24-2013, 01:11 AM   #2
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,952
What would the issue be exactly?
That seems like a rather expected reaction to that kind of topology (which is kinda meh due to the many-edges pole with all tris coming out of it).
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 07-24-2013, 01:34 AM   #3
TheMzk
New Member
portfolio
Murtaza Kathawala
Dubai, AE
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Oh sorry, i was trying to get a nice smooth cylinder with hard tight edges and i am resulting in this really uneven cylinder.

What should i do?
 
Old 07-24-2013, 01:52 AM   #4
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,952
Add another bevel (a couple rings on both faces) and keep their angles harsher.
Unless you're after absolutely sharp edges, in which case you might want to flag the actual edges as hard edges to begin with, just bear in mind if you alter topology afterwards, as indices change, that can quickly go down the crapper.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 07-24-2013, 02:03 AM   #5
TheMzk
New Member
portfolio
Murtaza Kathawala
Dubai, AE
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Thank you so much, i didn't think of that since i was following a tutorial and i expected to get the same result as shown.

come to think of it, this was kind of a stupid question ._.
 
Old 07-24-2013, 02:49 AM   #6
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,952
I didn't think it was a stupid question, and you don't come across as an inquisitive idiot, so I think your future around here is safe from harm

For topology specific questions more so than Maya specific ones (this was a bit of both probably) also make sure to check the modelling forums and the wealth of back archives on topology in the form of various threads.

There's a lot of crud and myth around topology in general, so pinch of salt at hand, but there's also a fair bit of good info to dig up.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 07-26-2013, 05:31 PM   #7
maven-colby
PRO
 
maven-colby's Avatar
portfolio
Colby Winfield
FX Artist
MPC
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 198
Glad you figured it out!
If you're new to Maya, there's an interesting function to the extrude operation. Under EDIT MESH, there's an option at the top called KEEP FACS TOGETHER. Try selecting multiple faces and extruding with this button enabled and with it disabled.
I was once trying to get a desired look and had no idea that this button was the answer! Play around, enjoy!

Colby
 
Old 07-26-2013, 08:29 PM   #8
TheMzk
New Member
portfolio
Murtaza Kathawala
Dubai, AE
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Haha, I had no idea about that button when i started out a couple of weeks back and i got so frustrated when all the faces extruded separately. Maya is actually really simple, you just need to give it time to get a hang of it..any application in fact.

Thanks.
 
Old 07-26-2013, 08:29 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.