Why is my expression not working on a Motion path?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 06 June 2013   #1
Unhappy Why is my expression not working on a Motion path?

Autodesk Maya 2013

Hi all,

I am relatively new to using expressions, so please bear with me.

I have created a spaceship scene, and for my fan blades I have created a expression so that they are constantly spinning on the Z axis. Here is the expression:

EngineR|FanBlades.rotateZ = frame * CCShip_handle.TurbineSpeed;
EngineL|FanBlades.rotateZ = frame * CCShip_handle.TurbineSpeed;

It worked just fine, right up until I wanted to attach my Spaceship onto a path. Is this normal?

I have tried to fix it and researched the issue but, keep coming up short, Any ideas why this would be happening?

Kind regards
Bianca

P.S. Please note that I have a value by the Turbine Speed Attribute so that is not the issue.

Last edited by Bianca-Lee : 06 June 2013 at 06:18 AM.

Old 06 June 2013   #2
You could put each of the rotating fan blades into their own group and then either hard parent or parent constrain them to the object that is going to animate along a curve/path.

This will make sure that the blades still rotate locally on their own Z axis inside the groups no matter how the groups are aligned in world space.

Old 06 June 2013   #3
Hey there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectLine
You could put each of the rotating fan blades into their own group and then either hard parent or parent constrain them to the object that is going to animate along a curve/path.

This will make sure that the blades still rotate locally on their own Z axis inside the groups no matter how the groups are aligned in world space.

Hi PerfectLine