CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 04:44 AM   #1
kachoudas
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 200
basic questions about hypershade

hello everyone

I'm studying Maya, and I must say I have troubles understanding the hypershade interface - it seems quite simple though.

- how to show (unfold) a node input connections without hiding other nodes ? The "input connection" buttton seems to isolate the current network, hiding others.

- how do you drag a connection line ? there is a page on the help file "Connect render nodes by dragging existing connection lines" but I can't make it work.

- what are the use of the little arrows under the nodes ? I guess tehy show if input/ouput connection exists ? but what is the down arrow for ? And what can you do with them



Thank you for your help !

Jerome



Last edited by kachoudas : 06-18-2013 at 05:28 AM.
 
Old 06-18-2013, 07:26 AM   #2
Undseth
Lord of the posts
 
Undseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 634
If the arrow icon on a node is black, that means there is a connection coming into/out to that part of the node. If the arrow icon is hollow then there is no connection coming into/out of that part of the node.

You can graphs more stuff by selecting more nodes before doing 'Graph --> Input and Output connections'

There are possibly more options in the menu for means to display the connections on selekted nodes, but nothing I can remember.

When connecting nodes by middle mouse button drag for creating a connection between nodes:
middle mouse button drag between nodes, to eh get this small menu suggesting relevant connection points
shift + middle mouse button drag between nodes, to open the connection editor, for dictating exactly what and how many connections you want to make between the two nodes.
ctrl + middle mouse button drag between nodes, to establish a default connection. This only works between certain nodes afaik. If no connection is made, maya opens up the connection editor and you end up having to make the connection(s) manually.

I do not know what the arrow icon in the middle of a node is supposed to indicate.
__________________
Are you warm, are you real, Mona Lisa?
 
Old 06-19-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
kachoudas
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 200
Thank you Unseth !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undseth
I do not know what the arrow icon in the middle of a node is supposed to indicate.

I'll keep investigating

And to answer my own question :
- how to show (unfold) a node input connections without hiding other nodes ? The "input connection" buttton seems to isolate the current network, hiding others.

There is a "clear before graphing" option in the option menu of the hypershade.
 
Old 06-19-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.