CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 03:02 PM   #1
mobkon
Frequenter
 
mobkon's Avatar
portfolio
J T
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Rotating character and rig?

Hi - Pretty sure this is a very simple question. I'm not really an animator, so I'm having some stupid issues...

Having a bit of trouble rotating my character/rig. I've created a simple rig and bound it to my character model...but when I rotate my character and rig 180 degrees, the whole character gets deformed. If I delete history I can rotate, but then the rig isn't bound to my character anymore.

Is there an easy way to do this? I can't find anywhere that explains.

Thanks!
 
Old 05-06-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
jgibz
Lord of the posts
 
jgibz's Avatar
portfolio
Jack Gibbons
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 787
It helps to have a master node that everything is parented under. You could do this with a control, an empty group node, or both. I'd create a control at the origin, then group your controls and skeleton, and parent the group to your master control.
__________________

gibby3d.com

Last edited by jgibz : 05-06-2013 at 03:37 PM.
 
Old 05-06-2013, 07:11 PM   #3
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,790
Another thing to keep in mind is that you should only be rotating the controls/joints, not the mesh itself or you'll get a double transformation.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 05-06-2013, 09:48 PM   #4
mobkon
Frequenter
 
mobkon's Avatar
portfolio
J T
USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
Ah, I should have mentioned that I DO have a main controller that I use to move everything together. I'm only able to move everything side to side or front to back. As soon as I start to rotate the main controller, the mesh starts getting deformed.
 
Old 05-06-2013, 10:19 PM   #5
jgibz
Lord of the posts
 
jgibz's Avatar
portfolio
Jack Gibbons
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 787
Like Horganovski said, make sure you don't parent your mesh, also make sure you've only parented your root joint under the main control and haven't selected any other joints when you parent. Also make sure your main controller shares it's pivot with the root joint before parenting. If your root is at the pelvis or somewhere besides the scene origin then you can use an intermediate empty group as a parent to your controls and skeleton, then parent that under your main control.

If you have any free floating groups that are used to drive joints via constraints, make sure those are parented as well.

If this isn't working you can post a scene file and we'll take a look.
__________________

gibby3d.com
 
Old 05-06-2013, 10:19 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.