Why use detailed shadow maps instead of raytrace for hair/fur?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2013   #1
Why use detailed shadow maps instead of raytrace for hair/fur?

This is a fairly well known post:

http://kiryha.blogspot.com.au/2010/...mental-ray.html

Although it is a little old, I have seen it referenced by a good number of other people's blogs. Some even simply copied and pasted it into their blog. And their posts are time stamped 2013.

Where it says "never raytrace with fur" I figured "sure! that makes sense! Raytracing is expensive." So I never even gave it a second thought.

I've been using detailed shadow maps for some time now since maya 2010 and just for the hell of curiosity I chose Use Raytraced Shadows over detailed shadow maps and I was expecting 5 times the render time. But instead I got (virtually) the same render times for a character with 1,000,000 hairs. AND the results were more accurate, more beautiful, more detailed, better shadow and self-shadow casting and more predictable. (By accurate and predictable I mean the where the light terminates from light into shadow on the skin mesh was in the same location where the fur lighting began to terminate. Before with detailed maps there were discrepancies and it resulted in odd looking transitions.)

So my question is: Currently I'm using 2013sp1. Has there been huge optimizations in raytracing since then. Perhaps when mental ray became a true plug-in?

Maybe raytracing is worth experimenting with for those needing fur in the future.

Last edited by egglybagelface : 04 April 2013 at 07:11 AM.

Old 04 April 2013   #2
I always thought hair rendered in scan line/software was to prevent massive rendering times, so if it renders for you quickly in mental ray, then more power to you