CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 10:10 PM   #1
LanceDraconic
New Member
portfolio
Zach Bradley
Front Range Community College
Fort Collins, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Question Maya 2012L Extruding = Odd hole in model.

I have been having this issue with most of the models I make in Maya. When I extrude a surface, I get a odd hole in the opposite side of where it is extruding from.
Here is what I am talking about.
http://screencast.com/t/Btb15gM7d

How do I fix this issue? Does it depend on the type of primitive that I start with? Because most of the time, I start with a Polygonal Plane. Could this be the problem because a plane is one sides and not two sided?

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by LanceDraconic : 04-24-2013 at 10:21 PM.
 
Old 04-24-2013, 11:51 PM   #2
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,002
you can't extrude a face and have it create a solid cube connected to a plane on all sides. It's not an error. What you're trying to do would make bad topology. Extrude the entire object and then shape the extrude to thicken and thin the parts you want.
 
Old 04-25-2013, 02:47 AM   #3
LanceDraconic
New Member
portfolio
Zach Bradley
Front Range Community College
Fort Collins, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Question

I was able to fix that issue by mirroring the mesh (go figure), but now I have a new issue.
How do I fix this problem?

http://screencast.com/t/1BkHWGE06

Notice that the mesh edges does not extrude in with the faces. Is this the same problem that you are talking about? Or something different?

Thanks
 
Old 04-25-2013, 09:03 PM   #4
LanceDraconic
New Member
portfolio
Zach Bradley
Front Range Community College
Fort Collins, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
BUMP

Still stuck on this problem. Anyone know?

Thanks
 
Old 04-26-2013, 03:30 AM   #5
LanceDraconic
New Member
portfolio
Zach Bradley
Front Range Community College
Fort Collins, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Exclamation

It would seem that I am not the only one that has had this issue unresolved.
Look here.
http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21560

This is a rarely talked about problem that is run into in Maya. So, does anyone know how to fix this issue?

Thank you.
 
Old 04-27-2013, 02:32 AM   #6
fleabay
Attribute Editor
portfolio
Puddin' Tane
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 331
You are extruding new polygons back coplanar to existing polygons. You just need some practice to get a good foundation.
 
Old 04-27-2013, 09:29 PM   #7
jgibz
Lord of the posts
 
jgibz's Avatar
portfolio
Jack Gibbons
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 787
If I were you I'd complete topology on the handle before extruding, that what you don't have to do it twice, unless your mirror is an instance. Also, after you extrude you can duplicate and mirror the whole thing and delete the faces created by the extrude, creating a mirrored poly with correct topology that you can weld to the other end that's been extruded.
 
Old 04-27-2013, 09:29 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.