CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 07:22 PM   #1
Jdunay
New Member
portfolio
James Dunay
Blacksburg , USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Animating Zdepth Pass

I'm working on a small room flythough and i'd like to be able to control the Zdepth focus amount. I'm using vray and have a zdepth render layer and I was wondering if someone could describe the steps to me?

I can get a pretty decent zdepth map if i go into my render texture, and turn down the zdepth white to something in the range of say 30 or so. However when i click the box use depth from the camera nothing seems to happen. It turns all black. And when i go into the camera and enable depth of field, i get a blured render, but my zdepth pass still remains all black.

Can anyone explain or maybe show me a tutorial?

Thanks!
 
Old 04-15-2013, 09:57 AM   #2
berniebernie
Schmppff...
 
berniebernie's Avatar
portfolio
Bernie B.
Paris, France
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdunay
I'm working on a small room flythough and i'd like to be able to control the Zdepth focus amount. I'm using vray and have a zdepth render layer and I was wondering if someone could describe the steps to me?

I can get a pretty decent zdepth map if i go into my render texture, and turn down the zdepth white to something in the range of say 30 or so. However when i click the box use depth from the camera nothing seems to happen. It turns all black. And when i go into the camera and enable depth of field, i get a blured render, but my zdepth pass still remains all black.

Can anyone explain or maybe show me a tutorial?

Thanks!


Do you really need a renderlayer or can you not do it with a renderelement ?
In any case you should choose your black and white as distance values, in world units (you can use maya's create>measure tool)

Use vrayFB to check your render passes as you go to make sure they'"re ok.
__________________
It took God 7 days to create earth because he was using MentalRay.
showreel r/maya del.ici.ous

Last edited by berniebernie : 04-15-2013 at 10:07 AM.
 
Old 04-15-2013, 06:35 PM   #3
Jdunay
New Member
portfolio
James Dunay
Blacksburg , USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 22
Ya sorry, maybe my terminology is a bit off. I am using a renderElement for the Zdepth. But let me ask this. I'm planning on having my camera move around the scene with out cuts, so sorta like a flythought. Can i just set the white/black value for the furthest distance that it will see and then just leave it? or will i need to be adjusting it for each frame? so maybe attach a measure tool to the black value?

Which would you suggest?
 
Old 04-15-2013, 06:35 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.