Newbie - STP files to Maya, how to cleanup

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 04 April 2013   #1
Newbie - STP files to Maya, how to cleanup

I am an absolute beginner here, just working my way through Digital Tutors courses on Maya.

One of our clients has supplied us with CAD of there products in STP and IGS format.

I'd like to know what workflow you would go through to optimise and clean up the model in maya to fix any issues and to simplify it, as at the moment the complexity of the model is slowing me down to a crawl.

The products are washing machines, I could supply one if anyone is willing to give me a shove in the right direction. Ultimate aim is to create photorealistic renders (still) of the products to replace traditional photography

Thanks

Old 04 April 2013   #2
There might be other 3rd party solutions but PolyTrans has been around for years - I've never used it (windows only last I heard) but seemed very capable if it actually does what it claims. If I got more jobs using complex STEP files in Maya I might consider getting a PC just for this. I've heard it doesn't work well with boot camp. Another down side - pretty expensive.

There is also N-Power Maya Translator plugin This does (or did) work with the Mac and PC both. I tried the demo once but never bought it. It looks like a good solution and much cheaper than PolyTrans - but not sure how stable it is and if they even support it currently. Out of curiosity I clicked on the buy it button on their website and it was broken. Not a good sign.